We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Erico - Creative Chocolate Shop and Chocolate Museum
Ranked #40 of 211 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A creative chocolate shop and an informative small chocolate museum where visitors can learn about the history of chocolate. The Chocolate Museum is free, self guided and displays more than 200 artifacts and objects related to chocolate history. All the displays now have their English version. Two video are presented (Artisan Chocolate Making and the Industrial Chocolate Making Process (French), from the cocoa tree to the chocolate bar). Watch the chocolatiers at work through a window while you try one of our 10 renowned hot chocolates. In the boutique, the chocolate lovers will find a great variety of classic and audacious handmade chocolates (try the Biquette, a chocolate with goat cheese and Bartlett pear puree!). Indulge yourself with one of our chocolate pastries (chocolate brownies, cookies, cupcakes and decadent chocolate cake) and during the summer, let yourself be tempted by one of the 69 homemade ice cream, sorbet, frozen yogourt and tofu offered! Érico is located in the Faubourg Saint-Jean Baptiste, a convivial part of the city, outside the touristic old walls, that is worth the visit.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
275 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Chocolicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

The "museum" does a good job of presenting the background of human development of chocolate. Then wander next door and try to narrow down which chocolate treat you'll try. Expect to pay more than you would at your local supermarket. Everything is made from scratch on the premises and you can watch them walk through the process.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bikingfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    56
    28
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
“Great stop to make on St-Jean street! Crazy for Chocolate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Walking on St-Jean street on a warm day, you need to stop by Erico's creative chocolate for an Ice cream soaked in REAL melted chocolate!!

I went there in summer, after 6 pm, you'll get a two for one special on Ice cream soaked in chocolate. (4,50$ CAD)

Many creative choices! Great people! Awesome little stop to make!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JCDubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Make it a Vacation, Indulge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The museum is not the best, but the chocolate is! My wife and I stopped in after a busy day of walking throughout the city. We ordered a bag full of Chocolates and cookies, and sat down and relaxed. We ordered a glass of milk, and seriously decimated the sweets we ordered. The cookies were soft and packed with flavor, and the individual chocolates were top notch. I'm usually not a big fan of chocolate like my wife, but for the hour I was there eating them, I honestly was. The museum is interesting enough to keep children occupied for a few min while you indulge with your much needed brake and relaxation. Take the time to head into this place! you're on vacation, why not?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mfalkenavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Tasty.
Not too much to see, but enough to test. Don't try if you have an allergy for chockolade.
Kids will love the place for sure.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KonstantinMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“OMG”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful confections! The staff was very kind and accommodating with my children. The Italian hot chocolate was to die for. Museum not so much , but the Chocolate was so worth it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GinaZocn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erico - Creative Chocolate Shop and Chocolate Museum also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Erico - Creative Chocolate Shop and Chocolate Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing