We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful little bistro”
Review of Cafe Bistro du Cap

Cafe Bistro du Cap
Ranked #54 of 1,434 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful little bistro”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We went to this little bistro (seats about 24 people) after reading the TripAdvisor reviews. They were right, this is a wonderful find! We had a vegetable soup as an appetizer and the cod fish for our entree. Delicious! The service was great, the server knowledgeable about gluten free options, and it was a gem of an evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NHMcQs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    69
    17
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent, cute bistro with friendly service”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Found this place on here and did not disappoint. The lady owner greeted us in a friendly way and was attentive throughout. Food was excellent- they even slighty altered the steak to make sure it was exactly what we wanted. Ravioli and chocolate pudding out of this world. Don't miss out if you're in Québec

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dukerarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juno Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quaint and Tasty”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our first introduction to Quebec City eatery for lunch. We loved the chicken, mushroom, scallion with bechamel sauce crepe. The pear and chocolate sauce crepe with ice cream was delicious too. The hot chocolate was carefully crafted and was adorned with a heart. We would definitely go back and was located on a beautiful street in lower town. A bit pricey but delicious.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LnLbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Thank you, TA!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Thanks to Trip Advisor, we had a great dinner in this restaurant. We got there about 6:30 on a Friday night and there were only 2 tables taken. It is very small--about 10 tables. When we left, it was almost full, so try not to go late. We had the Prix-fixe dinner which is mentioned below. We had the cream of tomato soup as it was a cold evening. Husband had beef with green pepper sauce; I had the veal ravioli. We both had the berry crumble. All were excellent and most enjoyable. Would definitely return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lesliesuej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice find !”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We took a "food tour" of lower Quebec City and our guide pointed this cute little place
out and recommended it as a place where locals go and as great value. We'd met another
couple on our meandering through the city and the four of us decided to dine together.
Since this little bistro was so near our hotels, it was a simple decision. Without reservations and
with no cruise ships in the harbour we only had to wait about 20 minutes. The wait is pleasant
because just wandering the cobblestone street is fun.
We all chose the fixed price menu - 3 courses for $29 ish (w/o tax and tips) WHAT VALUE !!!
We were all delighted with the food. Fresh, generous portions, perfectly cooked and seasoned pasta and beef with nicely done veggies. This was a lovely surprise and nice on the wallet after
several fine dining experiences. Highly recommended !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BroniaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bistro du Cap also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Bistro du Cap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing