We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Getaway in Quebec”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Getaway in Quebec”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

On a last minute whim my girlfriend and I decided to stay a 3rd night in Quebec and chose Chateau Fleu de Lys...we were not disappointed. The price was great, the location within the city was where we wanted to be, and the room as comfy as one could want. I almost felt how a writer would in a quaint room w/a bottle of red looking to write his love a poem.

My only (and it is very) minor issue was the wi-fi kept cutting in and out. It was only a minor issues as our plan was not to spend a whole night in the room, but it did prove troublesome when trying to figure out a place to eat.

I can't wait to get back to Quebec, and I'm 100% certain I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank DotAveMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much to taking the time to share your experience with other travellers on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry for your troubles with Internet, since we have totally changed our installation last month this should not happen, but be sure that we are going to follow very closely the situation.

For your next stay, please don't hesitate to directly call us, we will choose together one of our room with a splendid view on the Saint-Laurence River, and for sure you will find the inspiration to write a new romantic poem to your love...

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again,

Kind regards,

La direction, Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    111
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
121
308
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brossard, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

great location. nice place, modest accommodations because the washroom was very small and in the common hallway, but very clean. the staff was professioanal and friendly. good value. I would return or refer friends and family perhaps this summer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank yvette-yves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comment on Tripadvisor. We always appreciate to receive feedback from our customers.

In order to complete and avoid any misunderstanding, we only have 2 rooms (on 17) with private washroom outside of the room in our hotel - Our Guest rooms (Chambre d'Ami in French). These 2 small rooms are clearly identified on our website and sold at a very attractive price in order to allow everybody to stay with us no matter the budget. Last but not least these 2 rooms are only sold on our own website or at the hotel, and people who stay in them are always informed before to book this room that they don't have inner washroom.
By the way these rooms have the same bed clothing than the order rooms, and both of them have a view.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL,



Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was the third hotel that we stayed in as we travelled Parts of Ontario and Quebec last winter. It was by far the best choice of hotels that we made during our trip.

- Breakfast was a great bonus
- FrontDesk staff was freindly
- Nothing really to complain about but hair found in the tub.

Only a few moments from everything that allowed to maximize our activities in such a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Banff_Bear31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

You stayed at Chateau Fleur de Lys few months ago and you have appreciated you stay.

We would like to advise you that the hotel have been sold during the winter 2013-2014, and is currently changing in order to reach higher confort standards. We have by example changed all bed clothing, curtains, aminities products, all our rooms are now equipped with a hair dryer and will be equiipped by this summer with flat-screen TV. More than this we have changed the WIFI, you have now access to Internet from everywhere in the Hotel. Last but not least, we serve now a full continental breakfast inside the hotel. For more details visit our website.

We hope that all these changes will prompt you to visit us soon,

Best regards,

La direction, Olivier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just the basics, friendly service, room is a room. For the price it was perfect. A 3 minute walk from the Chateau Frontenac and Vieux Quebec. 15 minute walk to Grande Allee restaurants and The Plains of Abraham. Basic breakfast was included in our price. I'll give the hotel a 4/5. It was just lacking the proper room amenities.

Room Tip: If you want the basics and just want a place to sleep in, this is the place. Don't forget to as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pentjak2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

You stayed at Chateau Fleur de Lys few months ago and you have appreciated your stay.

We would like to advise you that the hotel have been sold during the winter 2013-2014, and is currently changing in order to reach higher confort standards. We have by example changed all bed clothing, curtains, aminities products, all our rooms are now equipped with a hair dryer and will be equiipped by this summer with flat-screen TV. More than this we have changed the WIFI, you have now access to Internet from everywhere in the Hotel. Last but not least, we serve now a full continental breakfast inside the hotel. For more details visit our website.

We hope that all these changes will prompt you to visit us soon,

Best regards,

La direction, Olivier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

You can't beat the location of this hotel for the price; right beside the Chateau Frontenac and all of the central Quebec City sites. Room was clean and charming; beds were comfortable, (only criticism was the bathroom was very small); staff were very friendly and helpful; breakfast was offered at a sister B & B, 40 meters away...croissants were excellent! all in all superb value for the price. Would highly recommend. Thank you Fleur de Lys for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank surfingsly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

You came 2 years ago at Chateau Fleur de Lys and have appreciated your stay,, but do you know that the hotel has been sold in Winter 2013-2014 and offers now more confort, service and is still considered as a good value.

Don't hesitate to come to see the changes...

Looking forward to welcoming you soon,

La direction, Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Hard to find but once you have, you will be pleased on how central it is, for the price. We are family of 4 in a double room, so a bit tight, but good enough. Breakfast was great, lots to choose from !

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

As new owners (since Dec.2013) we have read carefully you advise dated on Mai 2011.

As most of the hotel's guests you have particularly appreciated our location and have liked the breakfast during you last stay. Let yourself be surprised and come to visit us again you will love the new breakfast, more choice, a better quality and last but not least directly served in the Grand Salon of the hotel since the re-opening (Feb 2014).

During your last stay you found the room a bit tight for 4 persons, for you next stay why not try a Junior Suite, a Family room or The Gouverneur Suite. All these large rooms are adapted for families of 4 or 6 persons

We hope these few words will prompt you to visit us soon,

Looking forward to welcoming you,

Best regards,

La direction, Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

I've been staying at this hotel for over 25 years, and at all seasons. The best thing it has going for it is location - right across from the Chateau Frontenac and the rest of Vieux Quebec. Price is reasonable and there is parking available for a fee behind the hotel. It has a European flavor: no frills, concierge can be rude at times, no 24 hour desk staff - but cozy and comfortable. There are a variety of sizes and shapes of rooms, so explain your situation when you make your reservation (well in advance - there's always something going on in Quebec!)

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Olympia_Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are agree with you the location of Chateau Fleur de Lys L'HOTEL is perfect, that why we have decided to buy it in Winter 2013-2014, but since its re-opening (February 2014) it is not anymore its single quality.

We are now focusing all our efforts to make it confortable in a warm and friendly atmosphere in order to make the stay of each of our guests as memorable and enjoyable as possible. All this improvements are on our website, don't hesitate to visit it, don't hesitate to visit us and let yourself be suprised.


Kind regards,

La direction, Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,053 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL

Property: Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Address: 15 Avenue Sainte-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4A8, Canada (Formerly Chateau Fleur de Lys)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the very heart of the Old Quebec city, at the corner of the Governors' garden, facing the Chateau of Frontenac, the Dufferin Terrace and the Saint Lawrence river, the Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL is a Victorian style house from the 19th century. Recently purchased in 2014, the hotel is evolving everyday to offer better comfort to its guests. Thanks to its great location, you can access the most popular attractions by foot in just a few minutes : Quebec Parliament, Quebec Convention Center, Plains of Abraham, the Citadelle. If you are looking for theatrical entertainment, the Capitol Theater and Quebec's Grand Theater are also within walking distance. The hotel is dedicated to travels and guests seeking a key position to visit the city for business or pleasure with the quaintness of a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Chateau Fleur De Lys Hotel Quebec City
Chateau Fleur De Lys - L'HOTEL Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing