We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,006)
Filter reviews
1,006 results
Traveler rating
470
363
101
48
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
470
363
101
48
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen stove top superior suite great location separate bedroom old quebec welcome drink small kitchen lower town cruise terminal within walking distance the sofa bed farmers market keurig coffee machine old building hotel is located on site parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 1,006 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2015

Stayed in a third floor suite facing the square on St. Pierre. No problems with noise here. Spacious accommodations and nice service. The regular bed was quite comfortable; the sofa bed was not as comfortable... Typical thin mattress but clean and made in advance. Our room had a strange shower arrangement: a clear half wall and no matter how you angled the shower head there was water on the floor. (Looks nice but poor design concept). The building is a conglomeration of several buildings and there were some steps in the hallway between buildings. A few of the step areas were poorly lit (not friendly for those with declining eyesight). On-site parking is $17/day. We also received tickets for complimentary cocktails, but they are for a specific vodka cocktail, not just any drinks. The hotel is right along the Seaway. There are a number of restaurants in vicinity, however, there are a lot more shops and restaurants higher up. Be prepared to walk up the hills and steps to really get a feel for Vieux Quebec. It is an easy walk to the Musee de la Civilization (but beware the museum is closed on Mondays).

Room tip: our room on the third floor facing the square was nice and quiet and had a nice view.
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NoviceTraveler1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominikBT, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2015

Dear Novicetraveler1907

Thank you so much for your unbelievably amazing review. The team is so happy they made your stay so wonrgful and we hope you will return to us in the futur.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2015

Upon checking in you immediately feel as if you have been taken in as a valued guest. The staff are wonderful and extremely accommodating. Our room was spacious, well equipped and utterly spotless. The location of the hotel, at the foot of the walled city, was especially good for sightseeing and short trips away from town. You really could not ask for more in a hotel stay.

Room tip: The one bedroom suites are wonderful
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MASTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominikBT, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2015

Dear Mastrav

Thank you for your review, I am glad to hear that you found our hotel to a great place to stay.
We strive to make each and every guest just as comfortable as you were when you were a guest of ours. We certainly hope to have you back again soon.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2015

I escorted a group on a fall foliage cruise that ended in Quebec City. I had made reservations for many of my group to stay at this hotel after doing extensive research on-line. I was not disappointed.
The hotel is very close to the cruise terminals and if you can wheel you luggage, you can walk the block or two from the pier to the hotel. You can also call for shuttle assistance if one is available from the hotel but it is not reliable. A taxi is the last choice. As for the distance to the cruise ships, it depends upon which pier you come in to or leave from, most piers are very close. You can look it up on maps.google.com to view. It is at the corner of rue Saint-Paul and rue Saint-Pierre.
Now to the hotel. It is an older hotel, very clean with spacious and comfortable rooms. The price is great--hard to find a better price downtown in the old town section. The staff is very courteous and they speak English very well. They have a bar in the first floor so you do not want your room to be over the bar on a weekend night or you will be experiencing noise until the wee hours. The rooms toward the river are away from the bars and much quieter. We had a good night’s sleep and walked off property about 100 feet to a very nice pizza restaurant for supper. There are plenty of eating locations very close by and you will find yourself in the midst of the tourist area as the hotel is located in that section. Very convenient!!! We walked the downtown streets and found it to be historic and interesting. If you are flying into Quebec City or out, I would recommend you stay in the old town section. If you stay at the airport and wish to visit the historic section the taxi cost is not what you wish to be paying round trip. It is much more financially frugal to simply stay in the old town and take one taxi trip either to or from the airport.
In summary--If you want a hotel that is moderate in price, clean, and located in the old town area where you can tour the historic area and yet be close to the cruise terminals, this is the one you should choose. I will stay there again and will recommend it to others.
.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominikBT, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2015

Dear Ron G

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, I'm delighted you enjoyed our beautiful hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2015

I wish we had been here more than one night. The room was basically a small, and very nice, apartment. The staff was friendly and the location was perfect. We were able to stroll through Lower Town before breakfast and then it was a short walk from the hotel to the cruise ship.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominikBT, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2015

Dear terri S

We are fortunate to have a wonderful hotel in a wonderfull location. It's so nice to hear such wonderful comments about my hotel staff. I sincerely appreciate your review. We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2015 via mobile

Whilst not the most attractive hotel from the external perspective the room was large and well presented and had many facilities including a small kitchen area. However it's location is key being very near to the old Quebec City with its many restaurants and the port. If travelling by car there is a large parking area. However most of the sights of Quebec are well within walking distance.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank RobandJo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominikBT, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2015

Dear RobanJo_12

Thank you for your comment, We hope that you will visit us again and wish you the best trip !

thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews