We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best location in quebec”
Review of L'Hotel Port-Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Hotel Port-Royal
Ranked #30 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best location in quebec”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This beautiful, historic neighborhood was full of newly renovated but still old-world buidings, cafes, antique stores and galleries.

In addition, the historical sites, churches, Market, museums and port made this a great walking neighborhood.

It was so close to so many places that daytime and evenings were such fun

Unfortunately, the staff were not as knowledgeable as they should have been. The TV remote was not working and a light bulb in an important area were both needing to be attended to.
The sofa bed could not open and we needed assistance each evening in order to open it.
Otherwise, we loved being there, due to the great neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank merle l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    293
    74
    37
    15
See reviews for
223
371
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tysons Corner, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were in Quebec City for just one night, so wanted to stay at a hotel which was close to Old Quebec, where we wanted to spend most of our time. We arrived around 11:30 AM, and were promptly given a room. The front desk staff was very friendly and spoke to us in English. The parking fee is about $17 per night, and the parking is right outside the hotel.

Room:
We had a room with queen size bed. We were fairly surprised to see our room. It was wonderful. As we entered, soothing music welcomed us. They have a radio playing in the room, that you can turn off. The bathroom was clean and very modern. They provided good quality body wash, shampoo, conditioner, lotion etc. There is a tub and shower. The shower was amazing. There is a safe provided in the room, which is great. Overall, a very modern and well kept room.

Location:
Location is the best part of this hotel. It is about 5-6 blocks away from Quartier Du Petit Champlain and Old Quebec. Right outside the hotel, there are numerous restaurants for dining option. We walked to Old Quebec both during the day and night.

Restaurant:
We had breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel the next day, and this is where we were disappointed. The waiter was friendly, but the service was so SLOW. By slow I mean it took them 15 minutes to get us water, coffee, and even take our order. We had to flag our waiter so he could take our order. We wanted to leave quickly and drive back to Montreal. There were other people around, but looked like there were only 2 waiters. After waiting 45 minutes, our food was still not out. Then they brought out wrong food and seemed confused. They brought out my husband's order, but completely forgot about my order. After waiting 45 minutes, I was in no mood to wait another 45 minutes. So I told them to just cancel my order and I shared my husband's food. The waiter didnt seem apologetic at all. So I would avoid eating here, and go to the restaurants in Old Quebec or the restaurants right in front of the hotel. That is the reason for giving this hotel 4 stars and not 5.

Overall, a great hotel located walking distance from Old Quebec. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who are interested in exploring Old Quebec.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ani J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scherpenheuvel, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located perfect for a city trip to old Québec. IT is located 5 minutes walking from old Québec. Rooms or suite are very spacious and very well equiped! The interiour fits perfect in the old city of Québec. Parking was available.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Staff was very friendly and bilingual. The room was superb, nicely decorated with a great loft feel. Someone had turned some music on inside the room prior to my arrival, which was very welcoming and made you feel like you were coming home. Looking forward to staying at this hotel again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodypi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Really liked this place - our room was nice and airy and we could open the window - I like my fresh air rather than air-con (which was also good - not loud) Floor was a bit uneven but part of the charm. In the old part of town so plenty of lovely walks and places to eat/drink. We stayed a couple of days and the room had a kitchen with dishes and utensils which is good when you get tired of eating out. Locals very friendly. Can walk to the Funicular and to the harbour if fancy a cruise on the St Lawrence.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank czzzk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I recently spent five nights at Le Port-Royal. Having all rooms as suites is a bonus when staying more than a couple of nights. The staff were obliging, our room, including the bed, was comfortable and well appointed. A bonus was the central location in Lower Old Quebec, close to restaurants, shops and public transport. Would highly recommend. Janelle G. Australia

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
284 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

location is not far from the funicular and for those of us with walking issues it is one block from a ecolobus stop. That little electric bus will take you round town for 2 bucks. Has bar, restaurant and Subway sandwich shop attached. Service in the restaurant was quite friendly. Bar maybe a bit slow.
Staff at reception hit and miss mostly not overly friendly.

Room

Pros: nice suite with kitchen, fridge etc. Bathroom quite nice.

Cons: a room safe on the floor! Had to crawl to get to it. Alarm clock which someone had set to 2 wake ups and no matter how hard I tried there was no way short of changing the time to stop it. Went off in the am to radio and at noon to alarm. Some sort of musak noise at various times . Just when I thought it was quieter someone turned on their tv at 630 am.

Pillows ok mattress seemed to be a bit warped.

Fitness room, first view it was blocked by a chair. Next time it was open 1st floor and then down stairs but it had a tread and other machines.

So if location is important and budget go for it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cactus52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#32 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel Port-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Port-Royal

Property: L'Hotel Port-Royal
Address: 144 rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#25 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hotel Port-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining. A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. Hardwood in all the suites. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided. In the morning, guests can have elaborated continental breakfast at the Pub du Vieux port or delivered to their room if requested. The contemporary Pub du Vieux port boasts stone walls and plenty of seating. The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hotel Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
L'Hotel Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing