We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice decor.”
Review of L'Hotel Port-Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Hotel Port-Royal
Ranked #31 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The hotel is little but has a lot to offer. It has a parking lot outside the front door (that costs $13 per day), it is located in the middle of old town among lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance of anything you want. We really enjoyed having a mini-kitchenette, a fancy nice radio with CD player, very modern bathroom amenities and the brick wall.

The room was a little small but well-furnished and clean. Wi-Fi available, as well as a flat screen TV. Service could be better in terms of friendliness. Most of the front desk clerks looked fake (fake smiles, and didn't like to speak English very much). However, the location and price were right. We would definitely stay here again if we visit Quebec. The complimentary vodka drink was incredible!

Room Tip: Our room was very nice. However, the view not so great. It was heading the famous gas station... Oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsmaelT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 838 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is a fantastic place and a good value. The room was a suite type, with a kitchenette, although we booked for a regular room, which was just by itself a nice surprise. Clean, cozy, excellent staff, wonderful gourmet breakfast, and also included one drink at their bar (another pleasant treat!). Close to everything, right by the restaurant rows and cute stores in lower Quebec streets, a couple of blocks from a local market, and about two blocks from the cruise. We had a fantastic time and couldn't have wished for a better hotel. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sueli25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We booked a romantic getaway here about three weeks before we left Australia. After going budget for the week this was our last night in Quebec city and we were extremely disappointed. The room overlooked a petrol station and the noise of the trucks kept us awake all night. This was after the restaurant where we supposed to have dinner was closed and we had to leave the hotel to eat. The bathroom was not up to standard and although the staff early in the evening sorted the dinner situation the woman on later did not even make eye contact with us when we escaped the room to try to find a bit of quiet- the freezing cold outside was preferable to the constant noise in the room. This was the worst hotel we stayed at in our month in Canada. Seriously don't bother
.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I enjoyed my stay and would return to this hotel.

Pros-good value, beautiful decor, complimentary wine, good location to walk to everything, market nearby, grocery nearby, restaurants nearby, etc.

Cons-the front staff was not very friendly or helpful, my room overlooked gas station

Room Tip: Request a room away from gas station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bennett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

First the good. This hotel is ideally situated. We stayed here a year ago and I wasn't impressed with the desk staff. This time they were a bit more friendly. We stayed in a suite with a bedroom and sofa bed. We had the bedroom, our adult son had the sofa bed and ultimately slept on the cushions on the floor since he found the bed uncomfortable and soft and if he didn't open the sofa bed, the sofa wasn't long enough for him to sleep on. It's nice to have a kitchen where we can cook (we did a bit) and the view, while over a parking lot, is nevertheless nice if one looks off in the distance at the buildings and cliffs. Finally, last time we stayed here, we struggled with a luggage cart to get out to our car and had no help from any staff, not even opening a door for us. This time, at least someone not only held the door open but also helped carry our luggage to our car. My wife likes this hotel so we'll probably stay here again, but overall it's not a five and given the luggage issue last time and the poor quality sofa bed this time, in my mind it only rates a 3.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheQuietTravellerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

If you like the old Quebec, you will find "exotic" to have an old stone wall in your room. It is really nice, but have to say that it is also cold when it's minus 30 celsius outside.
The bed was very comfortable, had a small kitchen with a fridge.

There was some apparent recent construction marks in the bathroom but I had a good deal on the room, so it wasn't a big deal.

Well located, you can on St-Paul to have dinner or walk along the boardwalk on a sunny day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabydoune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This charming little hotel has a lot to offer..A parking lot outside the front door, it is in the middle of old town amongst restaurants and shops within walking distance of anything you want. We really enjoyed having a kitchenette and filled our frig with wine, beer and cheese to snack on. Only wish there was an ice machine available.

The room was a little small but well furnished and clean..wi fi available, as well as a flat screen TV
Service was excellent and the price was right..We would definitely stay here again if we visit Quebec

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#35 of 100 in Quebec City
2,855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 100 in Quebec City
1,758 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 100 in Quebec City
1,436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel Port-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Port-Royal

Address: 144 rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#25 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $120 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hotel Port-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining. A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. Hardwood in all the suites. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided. In the morning, guests can have elaborated continental breakfast at the Pub du Vieux port or delivered to their room if requested. The contemporary Pub du Vieux port boasts stone walls and plenty of seating. The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hotel Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
L'Hotel Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing