We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”
Review of L'Hotel Port-Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Hotel Port-Royal
Ranked #31 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Orange, California
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Superb location”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Staff were very helpful - especially "Charles" a member of the porter staff. When we got there - he moved the car from a side street, unloaded it completely and touched base with us intermittently during our stay. When our toilet kept filling - he even came by to see if he could help! Even the plumber had problems with it - but was pleasant and professional. We did have a "noise" problem from outside on Saturday night - but otherwise our stay was good. We didn't need to use the car once while we were there - we walked everywhere - the location is that good! Lovely view of the castle from our window.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anne32825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    306
    84
    38
    15
See reviews for
232
387
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lihue, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed three nites here and loved the close vicinity to Old Quebec. We walked this part of the city daily, discovering the best little shops, cafes, restaurants and historical sites. Just accross the street is Le Brigantine Bistro--had our best meal there...and down the street a bit is Toast, the fancy, but unique and delicious dining experience you won't want to miss. And a cross from the little Notre Dame church is a fabulous place to get a latte and macaroons...just like the ones we loved in Paris. The room we had looked brand new...very modern and spacious. The only bad part was our room overlooked the gas station--which we could live with, but the garbage trucks collected the garbage on that street early in the morning--so very hard to sleep in. But that was okay, because I love to get up early and exercise. There was a small fitness room--lacked air conditioning and saniwipes for the equipment (the elliptical had no plug so there was just a treadmill, bench, free weights, and one pc of equipment with cables). Because the fitness room was such a disappointment, I gave the hotel a 4--I really love using the fitness center when I travel and see it as a huge perk; This one was used to store sound equipment so no more than 2 people could really get a work out there at the same time.

Still, the hotel room was big, the bed very comfortable, extra pillows, and the maid always made it comfy for us. We loved that we did not have to put a deposit down when we booked. The pub downstairs served popcorn with drinks in the late afternoon--hit the spot. And the best service--the staff used their personal cars to haul our luggage (there were about 12 of us in our group) to the port where we boarded the NCL ship Dawn. Hard to beat that! Would come back here again, but would not want to be on the gas station side of the hotel--dumpsters are noisy!

Room Tip: Our friends were right above the pub and could not sleep. The left side of the hotel is noisy becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessPoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel was lovely very authentic old building converted into suites. Not your traditional hotel room but lovely. Our suite came with a Kitchenette and beautiful decor. Clean rooms, nice bathrooms but only a shower in ours. Noise was the only drawback we think because of the older building, we could hear everthing in the hallways and doors closing frequently. We loved the location and the price you couldn't beat. We would love to stay here again, because of the value and authenticity. The restaurant attached to the hotel was +5 *. Have written separate review. Restaurant Le 48

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Le Port-Royal Hotel is an apartment type hotel, with fully equipped kitchen (stove, microwave and refrigerator, tableware, etc). I think it would especially be convenient for those travelling with children.

It is located near the port and the farmers market, and close to the old town. The location is convenient to explore the city. There are several restaurants just across the hotel, as well as a restaurant and a pub in the hotel itself.

I stayed in a deluxe suite and the room was spacious. My room was facing the main road and was a bit noise, so do try to get a view of the fountain rather than the street/gas station.

Overall a convenient stay.

Tip: stop for coffee and a cheese cake at the Cafe Paillard (1097, rue Saint-Jean)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank einavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Clean, handsome room in the far end of the old lower town and practically next door to the Museum of Civilization. Price includes a good breakfast buffet. Parking is reasonably priced. Valet suggested a good restaurant 1/2 block away: Simple Snack Sympathique (aka Les Tres S at 71 Saint-Paul; 418.692.1991) for which reservations are almost essential

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, B.C.
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is 5 to 10 minutes walking from the train station. It is on a busy street but the traffic noise is minimal at night. It is a few steps from the Museum of Civilization and its an easy walk into the quaint streets of Lower town. Many good restaurants are nearby and it is also close to the "market" on the seaside bike path. We prepaid and got a good rate. The room came with a kitchen area and separate bedroom. We liked the hotel. Breakfast was reasonable. It is an easy walk to Upper town.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank doreenandneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our deluxe suite on the 2nd floor, (actually 3rd since the 1st floor is considered the ground floor), was ready as reserved when we arrived for our five day stay. It was a 1/2 hr. ride from the airport which is a fixed rate of $35.00 Cnd. $ - very reasonable for 2 couples, however squeezing in the luggage was challenging. It is an old charming building, located at the corner of Rue St. Paul and Rue St. PIerre - a very central location across from the waterfront; the rooms are spacious, modern and clean, there is a kitchen that is equipped for cooking. A pub is located on the ground floor as well as a restaurant, just across the road there are good restaurants as well.

You can pick up a double decker tour bus about one block away in front of the Museum of Civilization. The Ecolobus (electric mini bus) runs every 15 minutes and stops across the road from the hotel, for a fee of $2 you can ride to inside the walled old town and take in the attractions, restaurants and shopping - the Tourist information Centre at 12 Rue Sainte-Ann is most helpful with directions, maps and most organized tours stop outside their door which is a stone's through from the entrance to Chateau Frontenac.

Room Tip: Our deluxe suite was located on a corner and had several windows which opened for the breezes to blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#35 of 102 in Quebec City
719 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 102 in Quebec City
2,732 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#9 of 102 in Quebec City
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel Port-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Port-Royal

Property: L'Hotel Port-Royal
Address: 144 rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#25 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hotel Port-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining. A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. Hardwood in all the suites. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided. In the morning, guests can have elaborated continental breakfast at the Pub du Vieux port or delivered to their room if requested. The contemporary Pub du Vieux port boasts stone walls and plenty of seating. The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hotel Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
L'Hotel Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing