We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, OK room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hotel Port-Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
L'Hotel Port-Royal
Ranked #32 of 107 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Great location, OK room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a Superior Room.

The location of the hotel is wonderful, right in the middle of the Old City, a walking distance from everything. Parking was a bit tricky, but we got there during a cycling event where pretty much all the neighborhood was closed, so it was to be expected. We were able to walk around the city and visit a lot, never needing our car. So that's a big plus.

On the downside, we were a little disappointed with the room... We booked a Superior Room, but it didn't feel "superior"... We felt like we were staying in a mid-improvements room. They placed nice furniture around, but everything else felt... raw. There were holes in the walls from previous brackets that were not filled, patches of cement in some places, scratched paint on the wall from moved furniture, etc. It actually had the feeling of an old apartment converted into a hotel room, but without work to make it feel refreshed. Like they said "let's keep it as is and call it modern". It was comfortable, but didn't feel like a superior room in the least.

And if you're easily bothered by noise, exposed piping all around means no noise isolation whatsoever... It wasn't a big problem for us, but it's worth knowing. We had a lot of fun explaining the screaming in the next bedroom to our 2yo...

Overall, it's a great location, kitchen and separate bedroom are nice to have, especially with kids, but the place needs a serious refresh... It felt shabby, despite the higher-end furniture.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momovem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    248
    68
    33
    13
See reviews for
201
302
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I arrived at 6 am to check in at this well-positioned Quebec hotel. I was coming in on the overnight train service from Halifax NS and I did warn them! It took 4 hours to get a room. I cannot blame the reception staff for that, though the reservations staff could offer the option to book a room for early arrival and pay extra.

Putting that aside, the staff were very friendly and eager to give directions. The room itself was enormous, with a kitchenette and king bed. It was very dark in the room. Close inspection showed that everything was clean but needed a paint job. The seal around the bath was pretty shabby and the bathroom needed a bit of paint. Overall nothing to complain about, but time to refresh.

One note: i did ask the concierge about a restaurant about 200m from the hotel and he had not heard of it! I am glad I persisted as the food was excellent!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbob74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

It's getting pretty hard to fit two adults and two teens (15,12) in one room. The Port Royal offered a large room with a queen bed, a sofa bed and a rollaway at a reasonable price, which is why we chose it. But we got a lot more than that. The hotel is located in the old city; walking distance from the port and the farmers market in one direction, and the tourist attractions and funiculaire to the other direction. The good news is that it is just far enough from the bustling noisiness of the shops and businesses. The Port Royal is conveniently situated right next to Rue. St. Paul and its great cafes and restaurants. The hotel restaurant itself offers a basic (by Quebec high standards) breakfast buffet; but that can be a bit pricey.
The bilingual staff at the hotel is amiable and helpful at all times of day. We got to the hotel around midnight, and our room was waiting for us, with the extra cot quickly brought in. The staff will also provide you with umbrellas, if necessary, and driving directions, if you're going out on excursions.
Don't expect a great view and it is not the quietest hotel. It's located close to a main road, and there was a band playing there over the weekend, which a got a bit loud. Nevertheless, we loved this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zekebp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had reserved our room for 3 nights, but by the 3rd night my husband didn't want to leave! So we extended our stay. All the staff from the front door bell boy to the bar tender at least pub - were pleasant. Extremely helpful and resourceful!
Oh! And the view from our room of the surrounding city wall, along with the view of main corner with restaurants and statute, was lovely to people watch.

Room Tip: 3rd level, facing rue st Pierre
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeb460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our family enjoyed this hotel. It is close to the port, clean, spacious and quite comfortable. In all service was good - I think the maids were a little overwhelmed. The hike up the hill to the old city is enjoyable, but steep. The only "off" thing about the room is that the air conditioner didn't work well and it was noisy, I mean seriously noisy. It kept us up off and on for the two nights we stayed at the hotel. Despite the racket I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room on the east side of the hotel that would be a little easier on the air conditio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We came for the annual New France festival - Les Fêtes de la Nouvelle-France and could not have chosen a better location. The ship which brought the Filles du Roi (daughters of the king) to New France disembarked the 36 girls dressed in period costume only a couple of hundred feet from our hotel. (Alas we missed it because we did not research it in advance and failed to understand the volunteer’s French.) The Cirque du Soleil performs a couple of short blocks away. It appears to be the closest to the shore of local hotels.

INTERIOR: Totally renovated within the confines of its original shape, finding your room can be an adventure in itself each time you return. Tons of atmosphere. Dishes, fridge, microwave, double hotplate (!!!), dining table, and chairs plus easy chairs. Dining on the premises. As well as an outdoor pub.

PARKING: The parking lot was tricky to find – if you miss it, with traffic it can take 15 minutes to get back (and I know this because …) Once you park your car – or they park it for you – you are strolling distance to all the significant places in the Old Town of Quebec.

Positives: the staff was wonderful!

Negatives:
1. Housekeeping did not arrive until after we called and then came too late in the day so we sent them away.
2. There was a technical issue – the tub would not empty – we did not report it until at departure so can’t say what repairs are like. This was a mistake because we were unable to shower in the cold water next morning. Oh well.
3. The 40" wall mounted TV was a smaller unit on a table - there actually isn't any wall space for a tv that size in that particular room. No big deal to us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlleVast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the character & were not disappointed. We had a Deluxe Suite Plus in the back corner with beautiful old-fashioned wood windows & exposed stone & brick walls all around. As nice as the setting was, we were surprised that the bathroom & kitchen (& most of the furniture) were very standard & cheap looking. The mattress on the sofa bed was terrible! The coffee & toiletries were also bottom of the line. You would find nicer in most hotel chains. The interior walls are thin... my family was quietly sitting around one afternoon & suddenly you could hear a bed repeatedly squeaking next door...AWKWARD! ...We were still impressed overall though, because of the architectural features & the perfect location!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keepinitrealOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#7 of 107 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#6 of 107 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 107 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#4 of 107 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 874 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#2 of 107 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel Port-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Port-Royal

Property: L'Hotel Port-Royal
Address: 144 rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#25 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hotel Port-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining. A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. Hardwood in all the suites. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided. In the morning, guests can have elaborated continental breakfast at the Pub du Vieux port or delivered to their room if requested. The contemporary Pub du Vieux port boasts stone walls and plenty of seating. The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your L'Hotel Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
L'Hotel Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing