We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful boutique suite in old city”
Review of L'Hotel Port-Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Hotel Port-Royal
Ranked #32 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Fantastic location below the old city walls in Quebec City, close to everything, and affordable. I spent a couple of nights in a deluxe suite which has a nicely equipped kitchen and refined furnishings. Room nicely decorated in modern style in an old building, bathroom was sleek and elegant, quality evident everywhere. Helpful staff, the Marche is a couple blocks away where you can purchase wonderful local foods and beer, wine, cider. If you like sweet and unique wines try the glace de cidre, or ice cider. Amazing. Pair it up with some local cheeses. My room was very quiet, lots of shopping for every taste, wonderful restaurants, including the hotels own. I will return to Le Port-Royal.

Room Tip: deluxe queen suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotshap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 828 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

Perfect location, in Basse-ville, close to quaint shops and lovely restaurants. Haute-ville is a stroll away, with all it's rich history and gorgeous buildings. Our "room" was a fully equipped apartment, modern, clean and well appointed with loads of space and comfortable chairs. Staff are delightful, efficient and helpful. Great value for money - ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of great shopping, wonderful restaurants and historical landmarks. The old city is a walkers paradise. Le Port Royal is the perfect spot to rest those weary feet. The staff are very accommodating and helpful. Our room was spacious, clean, quiet with excellent WiFi connection. The pricing for this hotel was very good for all the amenities that were offered. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The windows open so so there is opportunity for fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice room, big tv, big room ( we had corner room), all needed kitchenware that was needed was there, location is great (lower town), price was great, service was great. Could be a bit noisy if room is above bar or on 1st floor. Parking right in front of hotel. Price was the best given there is kitchenette. We used quite a bit especially for breakfast. Would come back anytime.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeraTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I went for a romantic weekend to eat and walk around Old Quebec City. The location was perfect. It is located in lower Old Quebec which I found had a quieter vibe. We loved our room -- it had a kitchette, bathroom, super comfy bed, and lots of space. It was different than a hotel and different than a B &B. It was a neat experience!!!!!! We enjoyed the free wifi. The restaurant connected to it was incredible. We ate breakfast there every morning. Wonderful customer service at the hotel and at the restaurant next to it. I loved how old the hotel was.. very full of character!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sassyonemtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our first trip to Quebec City and this hotel has been a lovely little gem of a find. Clean room, comfortable bed and a decently outfitted kitchenette if you're so inclined. The room's exterior walls are 2' thick stone walls; a tad noisy with traffic in early morning but it is pretty quiet at night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaveThePlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Hotel's location is a bit of walk to the heart of Quebec area. We stayed in a deluxe suite so the rooms weren't too bad, bathroom though small, but it was nicely decorated. Wifi was free but the signal was very poor inside the room. Hotel's interiors need some sprucing, age was showing in the corridors and lobby. Overall it was ok.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABHINAV G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 102 in Quebec City
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 102 in Quebec City
2,811 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#36 of 102 in Quebec City
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel Port-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Port-Royal

Address: 144 rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#25 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $122 - $757 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hotel Port-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining. A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. Hardwood in all the suites. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided. In the morning, guests can have elaborated continental breakfast at the Pub du Vieux port or delivered to their room if requested. The contemporary Pub du Vieux port boasts stone walls and plenty of seating. The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hotel Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
L'Hotel Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing