We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Apartment feel in Old Quebec”
Review of L'Hotel Port-Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L'Hotel Port-Royal
Ranked #31 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I went for a romantic weekend to eat and walk around Old Quebec City. The location was perfect. It is located in lower Old Quebec which I found had a quieter vibe. We loved our room -- it had a kitchette, bathroom, super comfy bed, and lots of space. It was different than a hotel and different than a B &B. It was a neat experience!!!!!! We enjoyed the free wifi. The restaurant connected to it was incredible. We ate breakfast there every morning. Wonderful customer service at the hotel and at the restaurant next to it. I loved how old the hotel was.. very full of character!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sassyonemtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 853 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our first trip to Quebec City and this hotel has been a lovely little gem of a find. Clean room, comfortable bed and a decently outfitted kitchenette if you're so inclined. The room's exterior walls are 2' thick stone walls; a tad noisy with traffic in early morning but it is pretty quiet at night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaveThePlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Hotel's location is a bit of walk to the heart of Quebec area. We stayed in a deluxe suite so the rooms weren't too bad, bathroom though small, but it was nicely decorated. Wifi was free but the signal was very poor inside the room. Hotel's interiors need some sprucing, age was showing in the corridors and lobby. Overall it was ok.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABHINAV G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here for five days off season. Coming from CT, we checked in late. The service desk provided us with a cart and we wheeled our luggage into the room. The first room was spacious but we soon found out it was muggy, the sink did not drain, and the fridge was broken (it was generating heat, really).

We addressed the issue the next night (the fridge was the last straw) with the front desk and were quickly accommodated. They switched us into another room that was beautiful--except the door did not work properly. You had to make sure it was pulled tightly into its sweet spot which required extra force. Lastly, the deadbolt did not work. The man, Guy, that helped us was extremely helpful and kind--he came back to address the door and told us no one would be able to force it open even without the deadbolt and he even brought us ice water from the bar.

However, not everyone was kind. Some of the front desk staff can be quite cold while other employees were warm. Housekeeping will always say hi and smile. They also promptly changed our sheets when requested.

When you come in they give you a free drink ticket for the bar next door. It's for a specific cocktail --which is fine. However, both bartenders were rude. We wanted a certain drink and were fine paying for it but they weren't friendly. They didn't acknowledge us or had any awareness of the liquors they stocked (we asked what whiskeys they carried and were promptly told just to read the menu--there were only three people at the bar other than us).

Across the hall you will find Le 48 which is a gem! It's not your usual hotel restaurant where the food is over priced and average tasting. You get innovative dishes for a reasonable price and everyone on staff is spectacular! We tried breakfast, lunch, and dinner on different days and were never disappointed. The service is always five star even if there's a line out the door.

The hotel is located in a wonderful spot. You can walk out the door and the port is your backyard. Parking is outdoors and we would imagine it being difficult during peak season since the lot is limited. $15 a day parking really is a steal for peace of mind. Laurie Raphael is an amazing dining experience and it's right across the street.

We rated this place average because we loved the location and the restaurant. The rooms are cozy and offer a kitchen with pots and pans. However, half the staff can be rude and the rooms really need maintenance before the season begins. For folks that are sensitive to the smell of gasoline there is a gas station next door. The smell rushes in if you open the window, nothing you can do, just close the window. The walls are also thin.

We made some friends and are planning a trip back in August/Sept. Before the stay, we thought it was steal when we found it online for $130 a night. After our stay, we're convinced we overpaid.

Not sure if we would stay here again or recommend it unless the hotel price drops.

Room Tip: Third floor is sunny and you don't need to worry about footsteps. Second floor is dim and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Everything was magnificent, except 3 things. English is very limited , construction in the room next door at literally 6:30 Am, laying hardwood. And the last but not least, the floors are very squeaky even the bed. Don't be surprised to hear your neighbor walk around or get intimate, the walls are not thick at all.

Only downfalls though, the 2 dining locations on site are wonderful for breakfast lunch dinner. You can beat price for location. I'd go back in a second regardless of the negatives!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeTravelsTooMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed a couple days here and we were very satisfied with the experience. The parking lot outside is relatively small, though there were a few open spots. The front desk was friendly and accommodating to our limited French and even spoke to us in English which was very helpful.

Our room was on the First Floor, which is actually the second floor and overlooked the neighboring gas station and mini-mart. But as a hotel in the city what can you expect? The room was very well equipped and even came with a little kitchenette area (fridge, stovetop, sink). The decor was relatively new and the brick/stone wall added some unique character to the room. Space was tight, but given the size and location of the hotel, that's what I would have expected.

The road noise was a bit loud, and there was a little bit of a repetitive clicking noise through the night (not sure what from), but for the price we paid, this Hotel was a great value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 268ChrisH268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel was recommended by friends and I wasn't disappointed. Its located near the port and The Rue St. Paul, which is a charming shopping street. Very nice staff and varied hotel rooms. The restaurant in the hotel is worth checking out.

Room Tip: The rooms are all very different so the choice of room can make a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontrealNetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 100 in Quebec City
1,775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 100 in Quebec City
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
0.7 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#33 of 100 in Quebec City
2,899 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
#25 of 100 in Quebec City
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel Port-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Port-Royal

Address: 144 rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $121 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hotel Port-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining. A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. Hardwood in all the suites. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided. In the morning, guests can have elaborated continental breakfast at the Pub du Vieux port or delivered to their room if requested. The contemporary Pub du Vieux port boasts stone walls and plenty of seating. The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your L'Hotel Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
L'Hotel Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing