We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Canadian Urban Chic Class All The Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hotel Port-Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
L'Hotel Port-Royal
Ranked #31 of 108 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Lyndhurst, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Canadian Urban Chic Class All The Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I loved this boutique, quaint hotel in Old Quebec.. This boutique gem has an amazing restaurant, excellent service, a wonderful gym. The best part was our room. We come from the New York City area and have stayed in some beautiful unique places. Our room at Le Port Royal was Euro-Urban Chic all the way.. We absolutely loved it.. Best part, CLASSICAL MUSIC WAS PLAYING FROM THE SOUND SYSTEM WHEN WE CHECKED IN...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    254
    70
    34
    14
See reviews for
205
316
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Rooms are modern, clean, comfy. Bit or road noise, but manageable. Staff was very good. Had a broken door spring which they fixed right away. The restaurant is very good as well, we only did breakfast,mbut it was excellent for taste, quality, and value. I would stay again, just remember, it is at the bottom of the hill, so if you are heading up then you will get your excercise as it is a climb.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Callan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel was great - had what we needed. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Quebec City. We were a family of four, mom, dad, two children aged 7 and 4. My only recommendations to others would be to ask for a room AWAY from the service station and ask for a corner room. The other reviews I read on trip advisor were spot-on. The gas station nearby is the closest place for bread, milk, butter, etc. The location was good. The housekeeping could have been better - when we moved furniture we found some dustbunnies etc that indicated the furniture had not been moved in a while. The staff could have been friendlier - for example, we wanted to book a cab to go to the Hotel de Glace (Ice Hotel) and the front desk attendant said it was an hour away and was dismissive with us. In fact, it was a 10 minute cab ride away at the site of the former Quebec City zoo. I don't want to turn you away from this hotel, however your experience would be better if you heed the advice :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel, facing the courtyard ( not the Petro-Canada service station) Ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaunzieClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed on many hotels around the world and this is the nicest I have ever been in. It was absolutely gorgeous. Our room was huge and the bed was so comfortable. The location is perfect and within a 5 minute walk to everything. For $200 a night I was so impressed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Don't take the gastronomic package "couette gourmande", with the Laurie Raphael Restaurant, you finally pay more than if you would you would have gone separately, and they make you work to get the difference back. The bill or not clear,in the kitchenette there is practically noting to cook in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was an excellent experience! The hotel is located in the heart of Vieux-Quebec with easy access to all the main sights. Its rooms are spacious, very nicely decorated, and have tons of amenities. We had to change the first room because of a problem with the sofa-bed and the staff, while not exceptionally warm, was professional and accommodating. I would definitely stay again at Le Port-Royal!

Room Tip: Choose a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ski22345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here to experience a white Christmas with our 5 year old son.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom executive suite which was plently big enough for the 3 of us. Having a laundry in our room made life very easy. Although we had a fully equipped kitchen, other than a few glasses and the fridge we didn't use it. There was no need as there were ample restaurants within walking distance. The attached Le48 provided good breakfast, but we did not eat any other meals there. If I had to pick a fault with the room it would be in the master bedroom; it was such a tight squeeze between the end of the bed and the wall where the tv is, that my husband had to walk through very slowly and sideways.
One thing to note for those staying during the winter months, the snow ploughs are very noisy and do disturb your sleep. As our room was next to the service station our son was woken every day by the noise from there, not so good.
Location wise we think this place was good. We throughly enjoyed the 5-10 minute walk into the walled city. There is a bus stop right across the road, the ecolobus also stops here which is great to catch into the walled city if you don't feel like walking or just catch it to get your bearings when you first arrive. It's only about $2 per adult. As mentioned earlier, there are plently of restaurants close by so there is no need to cook unless you really want to.
So, would be stay here again, Yes but we would ask for a room away from the service station so we could sleep in!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the service station if noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMuggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#7 of 108 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 108 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 108 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 924 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#6 of 108 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#33 of 108 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel Port-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Port-Royal

Property: L'Hotel Port-Royal
Address: 144 rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#25 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hotel Port-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining. A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. Hardwood in all the suites. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided. In the morning, guests can have elaborated continental breakfast at the Pub du Vieux port or delivered to their room if requested. The contemporary Pub du Vieux port boasts stone walls and plenty of seating. The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your L'Hotel Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
L'Hotel Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing