We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hotel Port-Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added L'Hotel Port-Royal to your Saves list
L'Hotel Port-Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
OFFRE EXCLUSIVE!
Ranked #25 of 105 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Very nice hotel with a blend of art and luxury but yet simple. Its situated in a great location by the port of Quebec, close to restaurants, bars and walking distance to Cirque shows, Art Galleries and other attractions. Access to parking lot at very decent prices, breakfast is not included, however hotel restaurant is perfect for continental breakfast at very good prices...highly recomend this hotel, we would stay here again when coming back to the beautiful city of Quebec.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveler921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    229
    63
    32
    12
See reviews for
187
287
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I would say that my stay at this hotel was only average. It is in a great location, in only walking distance from countless great restaurants and tourist attractions. However, the room was quite small and there was an incident of theft that was not dealt with at all. Instead the employees just insisted that the hotel manager would call me back, which they never did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catalinamoyano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

If it was not for the fact that the trash truck woke us up bright and early every morning (just like home), I would have gave this hotel a five star across the board. Love the location. Room was cozy and well decorated. The kitchen was great. The staff was always pleasant . Walking distance to a galore of restaurants, shops and attractions. The drive was reasonable for the few places we had to take the car. I would definitely recommend it but of you have babies or want to sleep late don't get room 204.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank columbiasmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed with our daughter and a friend. The location and hotel was fantastic. We were able to walk to Old Quebec and a farmer's market. Parking was easy and the staff was fantastic. Our 'girls' felt comfortable exploring the area themselves. It was expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Visited this hotel in early July 2012 and overall it was an excellent experience. This was our third visit to Quebec City and a first time stay in the Old Port.

The hotel had more than a few pleasant surprises:
- The parking at $15 per day is VALET ! A great start to our trip!
- The rooms are VERY spacious with more space than you'll typically need
- There is a kitchenette, but it is not a 100% functional (personally, this was not an issue)
- The downstairs patio and lounge are incredible, there was live music at night (weekend) and an awesome ambience. This is perfect when you've walked all day and want to be close to your room after a few drinks.
- The hotel lobby and the rooms themselves are very nicely appointed.
- The location in the Old Port afforded us a brand new view of old Quebec
- Getting here by car is MUCH easier than the centre of old Quebec

To sum up: aside from not-so-great sleep quality (average), a view of the gas station (but who cares when you're in Quebec city?) and some outdated bathrooms (one of our rooms was better than the other), this hotel is an excellent value for the money.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Deluxe Suite. Ask for an upgrade to a Superior if you'd like a front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTravelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed in a standard room and were pleasantly surprised! It was huge inviting and comfortable. Superb location close to all the little shops. Everything was within walking distance. We would stay here again in a heartbeat should we ever visit Quebec City again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quen13400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I brought my two teenagers to stay here for 5 days, and it was the perfect hotel for us. It was within walking distance of all of the attractions in the old city, yet down near the river so we felt like we could get away a bit. Also just a short walk from the indoor/outdoor market--fun for shopping and breakfast.
The hotel has a very contemporary ambiance, and the room was spacious. We could have added another person comfortably. Everything was very clean and the housekeeping staff was gracious.
The walls were nice and thick--didn't hear a thing from other rooms.
Parking is limited, but not expensive. The young men who took care of the cars and luggage often moved our car from the parking lot across the street so it would be closer for us. Very courteous and knowledgable about the area. Not cheap, but a terrific value. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the street. Great people-watching and although you can't quite see the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#7 of 105 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#3 of 105 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 105 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#5 of 105 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 815 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 105 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel Port-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Port-Royal

Property: L'Hotel Port-Royal
Address: 144 rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#25 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hotel Port-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining. A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. Hardwood in all the suites. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided. In the morning, guests can have elaborated continental breakfast at the Pub du Vieux port or delivered to their room if requested. The contemporary Pub du Vieux port boasts stone walls and plenty of seating. The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and TravelClick so you can book your L'Hotel Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
L'Hotel Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing