We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice service, kid friendly, food was just ok”

Bistro Le Brigantin
Ranked #101 of 1,441 Restaurants in Quebec City
Price range: $8 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Description: Small restaurant, good service, good food and reasonable price. children menu
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice service, kid friendly, food was just ok”
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

it has a nice patio outside, a kids menu with decent prices and a fountain right next to the restaurant where we cut loose our 7 and 8 year olds to have fun until the meal came. they also had coloring books and crayons. there were 7 of us and we ordered pizzas, the brig alfredo pasta and the lasagna. Pizzas were just ok, pasta and lasagna were only half eaten and left behind by non picky eaters... It is too bad because we wanted to like the food...if in the area, walk one more block to Il Matto for great Italian food and you will not regret it!

Helpful?
Thank MoV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    119
    25
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely location; uninspiring food at CAD 18-20 per dish”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Bistro Le Brigantin boasts a lovely location in Basse-Ville at the corner of Sault-Au-Matelot and Saint-Paul looking over a pleasant fountain and public space.

We were there on a Sunday evening in August 2012 on a beatific day and say indoors against the large open windows.

Perfectly pleasant meal but basic stuff: thin-crust pizzas, salad and pasta dishes. We ended up spending perhaps CAD 18-20 per plate for nice but unremarkable food.

See photos attached including my dish, a half-pizza with smoked salmon and camembert (or was it brie?) and capers, plus a smallish Caesar salad which was fine, for price ranger mentioned above.

Pizzas are the same very thin crust style that seems to predominate in tourist zones across Quebec City.

Very kid-friendly. They had okay kids menu for CAD 9 and brought out coloring books and crayons for us.

Not remarkable but perfectly fine, and a great location in the old part of Vieux Quebec.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JFM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great dining experience”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This restaurant seemed to take the typical restaurant menu and give it a twist. Unique burgers, solid pasta dishes with thick sauce and love the idea of 1/2 pizza with salad. The 3 course set dinner was also unique and tastey! Friendly accomodating atmosphere. The children, family and friends we were with enjoyed the evening!

Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hempstead, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good food, nice friendly staff”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband, myself and 12 & 14 yr old daughters enjoyed the food here. We had Pasta dishes and thought the sauces were very good. The location was great, a very active area and a very short walk to the nightly show on the Mills, followed by fireworks.
The owner was very helpful towards our dog. He gave us a table where we could have our dog right next to us but outside the gate. On his own, he went and got water for the dog even though they were quite busy. Later on that night during the chaos after the fireworks we went back to them, and he happily called a cab for us which was much cheaper than the cab we used to come to the lower town earlier that night.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carol l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“easy to find!”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

the meals were good, though a bit rich. My husband loved his lamb entree and the rest of my pasta.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Le Brigantin also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Bistro Le Brigantin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing