We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but not the best location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy)
Ranked #29 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed here for one night. Typical of the more modern budget hotels, minimalist design, flat screen TV etc. Typical room size, typical layout, sort of characterless, really.

It was clean, the bed was comfortable, wifi was included, as was the buffet continental breakfast.

It's OK if you're in town to work, but think twice if you're on holiday. A cab ride downtown to the old part of the city was about $20. You'll need to do that to eat out as there is no restaurant in the hotel (apart from breakfast service), and no bar. There isn't much within walking distance either.

Completely "smoke free", make sure you're in a room near the lobby if you need to get out to light up!

Bottom line, clean, comfortable, nice staff, middle of nowhere and lacking in any character.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geedee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressQuebec, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy), responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

Thank you very much for your comments.

We appreciate the honest feedback from our guests and every opportunities for us to improve!

Have a great summer!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (695)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 696 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2011

Over the past few years we've become big fans of the HIE chain, having had positive experiences in each of those we frequented. HIE Quebec City (Sainte-Foy) was similarly excellent, with the added twist of very modern, upscale room decor.

The hotel is well-situated, a 10 minute drive west of downtown Quebec City, adjacent to the bridges crossing the St. Lawrence--making travel to, say, Levis, a snap--and ready freeway access (regarding which, note that rush hour backups heading southbound to the bridges is horrendous, starting early as 3:30 p.m.). There are quite a few restaurants nearby, but although walkable for some, there's nothing remotely scenic about the immediate area.

We found the HIE staff on all shifts to be pleasant and helpful. In particular, they'll make reservations and take payment for the many tours available, at least some of which will offer free pick up/drop off at the HIE. Although the drive to Quebec's Old City is an easy, straight-shot from the hotel, prepare yourself for the maze of narrow, one-way streets you'll find there (as well as for the parking places you won't find there!).

Traveling in and through Quebec City was delightful, but we found that viewing it from across the river in Levis gave us an interesting and useful different perspective.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAmelians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressQuebec, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy), responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

No need I add anything! You said it all! Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Staff were friendly and helpful, the place was impeccably clean, and the breakfast exceeded expectations.
2 minutes from the aquarium, and 5 minutes from Champlain, which takes you along the St. Lawrence to "Old Quebec".
Definately recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfxdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressQuebec, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy), responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

We just wanted to take a minuit to thank you for the great review. Hope you have a nice summer. Glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel and beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

The Holiday Inn Express is located outside of the actual city, but it is a very short and cheap bus to old Quebec. The location is ideal if you plan to drive outside of the city, as the entrance to the highway is right across the street. Rooms are larger than what you would typically find within the city. Hotel is extremely clean and the staff could not be any friendlier. The included breakfast is also quite good with a nice variety of hot and cold items. We enjoyed our stay here very much.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobaidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressQuebec, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy), responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Thanks so much for the nice review. Glad you enjoyed the city. Hope you have a great summer & looking forward to seeing you agian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The rooms at this Holiday Inn express are very modern and clean. The breakfast was large and had a good variety. The staff was very helpful with directions, tourism suggestions and currency exchange. It was an easy drive down Blvd. Champlain to get to the old city. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatrice07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressQuebec, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy), responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Thanks for your great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful city. We hope to see you again. Have a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Between missing our flight and rescheduling another one, we called the hotel and the staff (Dave and Jennifer) worked with us thru the whole ordeal to accomodate us. We finally arrived at the hotel after a long trip. They met our late arrival with a pleasant welcome and a great room that made up for the travel ordeal. Everything went great from there on. THANK YOU HI EXpress Sainte-Foy, you are a class act!

Room Tip: Call the hotel and ask the staff . They know best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n4lal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressQuebec, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy), responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Thanks alot for the excellent review. Sorry about the tiring arrival to Quebec City. Glad the staff made your night better. They are a great team. Hope to see you again in the near future. Have a good summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The Holiday Inn Express is conveniently located right next to the main highway and is a 2-minute drive from the main strip of Boulevard Laurier where you'll find several gas stations, a shopping mall, and lots of other stores and restaurants.

The hotel is about 9 km to Old Quebec, so it's about a 15-minute drive across Boulevard Laurier. It was nice seeing some of the beautiful houses along the way.

Inside the hotel, it was very clean and the staff was very nice. In the lobby, there's a plaque on the wall from TripAdvisor giving a 4.5/5 rating for the hotel. My friends and I stayed in a room with two comfortable queen beds, amazing laminate floors and a very nice bathroom. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was very good as well. You have to try the cool pancake dispenser.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kix24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressQuebec, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy), responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Thank you for the great review. Like you said we are conveniently located plus we have a shuttle for the summer season to Old Quebec. We hope to see you again. Have a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel l'Aristocrate
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sepia
Hotel Sepia
#23 of 100 in Quebec City
505 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Cofortel
Hotel Cofortel
#24 of 100 in Quebec City
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
#19 of 100 in Quebec City
895 reviews
7.9 mi away
N Hotel Quebec
N Hotel Quebec
#22 of 100 in Quebec City
342 reviews
8.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Quebec Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy)

Address: 3145 Avenues Des Hotels, Quebec City, Quebec G1W 3Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#22 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#28 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $91 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy) 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sainte Foy Hotel Near Quebec City Attractions and Businesses Modern style and friendly service unite in this Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Sainte Foy in Quebec City, conveniently located 10 km from Aeroport Jean Lesage (YQB) and .5 km from the Gare de Ste Foy train station. Exciting attractions, such as Aquarium de Quebec and Musee National des Beaux Arts du Quebec, are only a short drive from our hotel in Sainte Foy. You can explore Quebec City's history and visit the historic Pont de Quebec (Quebec Bridge) a few kilometers from our accommodations near Quebec City, or relax on the beaches of the St. Lawrence river at Parc de la Plage Jacques-Cartier. Business travelers will love our hotel's proximity to area businesses like Ernst & Young, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Olympus NDT Canada, Laval University and Chul Hospital. Quebec City Convention Centre is a short drive from our Sainte Foy hotel. While lodging in Quebec City, you can utilize our meeting room, free, high-speed, wireless Internet access and 24-hour business centre. Our well-appointed accommodations near Quebec City go beyond other Quebec City hotels to offer you premium amenities, such as a complimentary hot breakfast that is served daily. Relax in the whirlpool and workout in the fitness centre each day after a good night's rest in a triple-sheeted bed. Call today to make your reservation at this state-of-the-art Sainte Foy hotel near Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy) Hotel Quebec City
Quebec City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing