We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms but poor location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Victorienne Urbaine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Victorienne Urbaine
Ranked #33 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Pistoia, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice rooms but poor location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

I read other reviews on trip adviser before choosing this b&b and only one reviewer said it was a thirty minute walk from Quebec's train station....that alone would have been ok but no one mentioned that the area of the b&b is very poor. The closest area for a "nice" dinner is a 15 minute walk to the St Roch area and even this so called "trendy" area is rather sketchy. Plan to walk at least 45 min to get to old Quebec. Overall if you do prefer to save money and being out of the old city is okay then I would recommend this b&b since the rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    17
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
50
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
282 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Beautiful home within walking distance to the main Quebec City attractions with optional bus right to the door. All rooms have private baths, are immaculate, and furnished comfortably. Elisabeth prepares a delicious gourmet breakfast each morning. She is professonal, but friendly and willing to help map out the best possible way to enjoy Quebec. We feel that because of Elisabeth's help, we were able to experience the best of the attractions and cuisine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoosierhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights in Le Victorienne Urbaine B&B while visiting for our first time in Quebec City and could not have stayed in a better place!
Elisabeth was very kind and helped us craft the best plan to get the most out of our visit.
She isalso an amazing cook and surprised us every morning with delicious breakfasts that gave us energy and kept us full for most of the dayinour marathonic journeys!

Rooms are spacious and thoroughly cleaned.

I highly recommend this b&b to anyone looking to visit Quebec City!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LinaAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We chose this B and B after reading excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. Everything that we read about La Victorienne Urbaine and the hostess Elisabeth is true! She runs this business in a very professional manner and yet enjoys spending time chatting and getting to know her guests. Her culinary skills are incredible - really she could run a bistro or something. I loved the fruit smoothies, the fresh fruits with yoghurts, and her breads and homemade preserves were out of this world. Crepes filled with apple and cinnamon, smothered in maple syrup - mmm. Courgette galettes topped with eggs were yummy. We stayed three nights - (not so keen though on garlic vegetables for breakfast served in ciabatta buns - maybe this is a French thing though - and when in Rome.........) and as I really am veering on the side of gluten intolerance perhaps there was a predominance of wheat in these amazing breakfasts so I would bear this in mind and would maybe mention it if we stayed again.
Elisabeth gave us a map and pointed out places of interest which we found extremely helpful. We walked into town and really felt we got to know the layout of the city well. I wish she had warned us against the "Quebec Experience" though - it was desperate! One last thing - we had to pass through the kitchen to get to our room and it would just have been nice to have been invited to help ourselves to a cup of tea - especially in the evening - add an extra couple of dollars a day maybe to include tea bags, instant coffee, a little milk - makes all the difference - if we had asked perhaps this was possible? Similarly after a very long drive to Quebec it would have been great to be offered a drink on arrival - even a glass of water.....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magpie369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Friendly and professionnal owner. Excellent food. Very clean. Near everthing with a bus at the door.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

This was an amazing b&b! Elisabeth, the owner, made such an impression. With her help (maps, bus schedule, taxi info, etc) we were able to make the most of our time in Quebec City. This was really unexpected, yet so appreciated. The house is beautiful, very clean and centrally located. The real highlight? Her gourmet breakfasts! Amazing!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cp076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestnut Ridge, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

Beautiful B & B . Immaculate, charming,comfortable & close to the Old City & everything.The homemade breakfasts were gourmet & delicious. Everything was homemade..the jams, brioches etc was an added bonus.Elizabeth was extremely helpful & made our 3 day stay wonderful. She helped direct us to all the places that were special & the restaurants that were reasonable & good quality as well as the best ice cream in Quebec City & The Marche market at the old port was fun. We highly recommend this B & B in Quebec to everyone. Barbara:)

Room Tip: The room with the largest bathroom. I am certain that all the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nesor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel du Nord
#71 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Montcalm
Couette & Cafe L'Arvidienne
Couette & Cafe L'Arvidienne
#32 of 119 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Couette et Cafe 253
#7 of 119 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Manoir des Remparts
#34 of 119 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Maizerets
Auberge Amerik
Auberge Amerik
#8 of 119 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Auberge La Chouette
#26 of 119 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Victorienne Urbaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Victorienne Urbaine

Property: La Victorienne Urbaine
Address: 684 St-Vallier Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1N 1C8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Victorienne Urbaine 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Victorienne Urbaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Victorienne Urbaine Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing