We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive? Yes. Overrated? No.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toast! Restaurant

Toast! Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 1,427 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $60
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Description: At 17, rue Sault-au-Matelot in the heart of the Old Port of Quebec, housed in the charming Hotel Le Priori. There is a current and warm décor, the kichen is inspired by the flavors and fragrances from around the world. We have a large inner courtyard with garden terrace in season, heated and protected from the weather.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Expensive? Yes. Overrated? No.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family ate at Toast last week, where we had our favorite dinner in Quebec City and one of our best meals ever. Service was excellent and the food was fantastic. Yes, the menu is constructed around "appetizers," but our server explained that we would want two or three dishes per person. We ordered seven for our family of three, and were able to easily share every dish. The lobster risotto and the duck break were especially memorable. The pace of the meal was relaxed but not slow. We asked for wine recommendations and loved the wines suggested. Dessert was also excellent. We had a lovely evening with an amazing meal. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank am1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    134
    47
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expensive and overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We went to Toast because it came highly recommended and based on reviews. We had an hour wait between our meals and overall our time spent at the restaurant was 3 hours. There was no real apology on the wait between meals until we asked them to stop our order because we wanted to leave. The food when it did arrive was very good but certainly not worth the wait. We spent close to 300 dollars on just 6 appetizers and three drinks. The waiter while being apologetic did not offer any type of service recovery. I would not recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ccavps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Burnt Toast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The food was excellent but the service was some of the worst we have ever received at a restaurant with such a high rating. Our waiter did not know the menu well and was extremely slow. It took over twenty minutes to get a desert menu and other twenty for him to check back. I could go on and on but this would be redundant. This is supposed to be an exceptional restaurant and even if this was his first night he was sorely under trained. We always give someone the benefit of doubt but just too many things to ignore here. On top of everything the table was so off balance we were fighting it all night. The long bench also acted like a spring between my wife and the women at the next table. I realize its a patio and things will be uneven but both of these issues could easily be minimized with little effort.
Bottom line the food was great and the experience was very poor.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ckeamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3 star restaurant with 5 star prices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Way too expensive for the food we ate. The portions are tiny and the quality is only okay. So, the prices are way too much for what you get.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

From the service to the atmosphere and especially the food can not say enough good things about the place a must go when you are in Quebec City

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank shanerdog62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toast! Restaurant also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Toast! Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing