We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Our Morning Ritual"”
Review of Le Petit Cochon Dingue - CLOSED

Le Petit Cochon Dingue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Granville, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"Our Morning Ritual"”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Due to great reviews on tripadvisor and the proximity to our hotel in Lower Town, we sought this patisserie out on the first morning of our stay. We loved it so much, we returned every morning for the next five days! (We tried other patisseries but this was our personal favorite.) Pastries and lattes were great, staff friendly and fluent in English, and nice outdoor patio (although it fronts on a busy street).
NOTE: This is a smaller version of Cochon Dingue, located a few doors down. The larger version is more of a full scale restaurant with a patio of its own. We did not eat there.
NOTE: The entrance to both places is a bit confusing. If you are walking down pedestrian only Rue du Petit-Champlain, you will see a back entrance. The front entrance is actually down some steps to Boulevard Champlain which is a busier car friendly street.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank fellowtravlrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    196
    44
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
136 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Average Experience”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband and I went here after eating at the Le Couchon Dinque's main restaurant because we wanted to sit outside and relax with our lattes. Our lattes were good but the two pastries were just ok. I have a strawberry cheesecake of sorts but the strawberries were not too tasty and it wasn't a rich cheesecake filling. We also had a sugar bar but it had little flavor. The outdoor area faces the busy street.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We found this on trip advisor. Loved the walk through old town to get here. Staff spoke fluent English. We had sandwiches which were all delicious, and sat outside with a beautiful view.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emm71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent croissants and great outdoor patio”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We actually ate here twice in our short visit to Quebec City! The first time was when my husband ran out for breakfast pastries to bring back to our hotel in the morning! They were so great- we went back later for a mid afternoon snack and cocoa! They are very very busy and their food was very good. We were lucky to get an outdoor table and really enjoyed the atmosphere. We had croissants, macaroon, soup and hot cocoa and it was all very good! Cute decor too-

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maricara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, Connecticut
Level Contributor
304 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great croissant and pastry”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This is a BUSY place in the lower section of Old Quebec. It's busy for
a reason, delicious pastry and breads. We got croissant sandwiches then went back for pastry. The staff is comfortable in both English and French. Traditional patisserie /boulangerie.

Helpful?
Thank MM8803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Cochon Dingue also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing