We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not an experience to write home about”
Review of Le Petit Cochon Dingue - CLOSED

Le Petit Cochon Dingue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Norwich, Vermont
Level Contributor
155 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Not an experience to write home about”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We were attracted to Le Pete Cochin Dingue for lunch because of its convenient location and charming atmosphere - a rustic stone building. We were seated and got menus promptly and then no one. After what seemed like a good 10 to 15 minutes, I finally found the waitress and told her we were ready to order. We did - and than waited a good 15 minutes for my onion soup. After I told her it did not need to be very hot, it finally came.

The soup had lovely cheese on it, but lacked an adequate stock to make it good. Susan's salad was very good.

The soup was close to $10. All-in-all, not an experience I want to repeat - especially with so many restaurants to choose from in Quebec City.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterBrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    196
    44
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stopped I here for a snack during our shopping trip in Vieux-Quebec, and we were very glad we did. I had a muffin and he had apple pie, and we both had a coffee. All of it was tasy and fresh, and the atmosphere was perfect. Makes me wish there was a spot like this close to home!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hvkdswilltrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
152 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great food! Great presentation! Great Service!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We just loved everything about this restaurant. We had the moules frites and they were absolutely delicious with an assortment of sauces. Desserts were very tasty too. The service was great and we felt truly welcomed and special. Atmosphere was cozy and food presentation was very nice. Great choice if you want casual but cozy! We will be back!

Helpful?
Thank chauddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch place”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had no intention of having lunch at a sit down place initially. But when we walked around the lower town of Quebec City on the first day of our visit, we saw this cafe and remembered it has high rating on TripAdvisor so we thought we will give it a chance and we were glad we did.

We ordered a set of lunch special and a pie. The daily sandwich of the lunch special changes everyday. The lunch special includes a daily sandwich, a bowl of soup and tea or coffee. The set is about CAD$7.95 plus tax. The sandwich we had was wonderful. The crust of the bread was crispy while the bread was soft and flavorful. Ham was tender and succulent. Zucchini soup was smooth and tasty. The English Breakfast tea that came with the set was aromatic as well. Overall, very good value for a sit down lunch.

We went back again for lunch on the second and the last day. This is how much we love this place!



Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank foxlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, #1 breakfast destination in Old Port area”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Had Sunday breakfast and were not disappointed; delicious crepes, crisp waffle with some ethereal maple cream sauce! Great coffee/espresso and the friendliest waiter we had on our whole trip!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Cochon Dingue also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing