We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy Little Pig!”
Review of Le Petit Cochon Dingue - CLOSED

Le Petit Cochon Dingue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Crazy Little Pig!”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

With a little time between our walking tour and a boat ride we opted for lunch her at the crazy little pig. It was busy but move fast as we ordered from the chalkboard list and seeing the sandwiches in the display case. Our sandwiches were on crusty bread and had enough meat and cheese to satisfy. Decent pricing. Opposite the sandwich display case is the bakery where you can watch them preparing the cookies and pastries also offered here. The women shared une gateau anniversaire and I had le sucre a la creme. The ladies' cake was chocolaty goodness and mine a chunk of incredible sweetness with a mild caramel flavor.
There is an inside dining area upstairs or you may sit outside and watch the tourists strolling by.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    196
    44
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Crazy Little Pigs Were We!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Lip-smacking rack of ribs in Quebec? Who knew? We had seen the "big" Le Cochon Dingue while wandering through vieux Quebec but found ourselves in front of this litle crazy pig while on a long stroll. It was an odd hour, well after lunch and too early for dinner but we were cheerfully offered any seat inside or outside. Although the day was warm, the covered patio outside was actually much cooler than the inside portion of the restaurant - perhaps they turn the temp up between lunch and dinner?) Our waiter explained multiple menu choices, gave his suggestions and while he explained where Gaspe lobster was from, we suspect it might have been frozen. But hey, June is not lobster season so we can't really complain - I would just like to know up front. (if it was fresh, it did not exactly taste to us.) We ordered Caesar salad, the titled ribs and the lobster/shrimp salads. The Caesar salad was good sized with crisp lettuce, nice croutons and freshly grated cheese - enough to share between the 4 of us. The lobster and shrimp salad combo (mind you, it was ALL lobster meat and whole bay shrimps - not a vegetable type salad) was generous. As mentioned, the flavor of the shellfish was a bit understated but the presentation and generous portion overcame this. Consistent with the cochon theme of the restaurant, the pork ribs were great. Very tender to the tooth, meaty, not drowning in sauce but moist and an impressively large portion for lunch. Our waiter - rock climbing Vincent - is fluent English/French speaking and made the meal highly enjoyable. He gave us some visitor info tips and never stopped smiling while being discreetly attentive during our meal. Prices are not the cheapest, but it is very reasonable for the quality, quantity, location and service level. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WyLo808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good Seafood Lunch in the "Little Crazy Pig"”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I had the seafood pot pie and my wife had grilled salmon over rice. She usually doesn't like salmon, but it was not fishy at all. Both dishes very tasty ! The restaurant is just down the street from the more well-known (and crowded) Cochon Dingue.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeBe_Bon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches and great desserts!”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We had chicken teriyaki sandwiches and cupcakes for lunch. All sandwiches looked good. You choose sandwiches and desserts from the display. Cupcakes were delicious!! Sat on the patio as it was a lovely sunny day. Indoor seating is upstairs. Small café, popular with tourists and the locals.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovehotbeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“You MUST try the macarons!”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This place is full of charm and made me feel like I was in Europe... little bistro for lunch or pastries. You can watch the chefs decorating their decadent desserts in chocolate ganache and frosting.

We got one of each macaron (vanilla, chocolate, raspberry & coffee) and I could absolutely not believe how amazing they were!!!!!!! So light and the texture is just breath-taking. And only $1.25 each! I will definitely return next time I am in Quebec.

For a full sit-down meal that is out of the world, a few doors down in Le Cochon Dingue, which is the parent restaurant. Also worth a visit!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank ditchchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Cochon Dingue also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing