We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location for shoppers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Times Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Times Hotel
Ranked #51 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Maniwaki
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Wonderful location for shoppers”
Reviewed March 17, 2010

The Grand Times is a modern boutique style hotel that has been built just a few years ago. I enjoyed everything about it except perhaps for the fact that I found the matress a bit too soft. The lobby is huge, but the breakfast area might be a bit small when the hotel is crowded. The Grand times also has a pool and has access to the internet. There is also free parking.
Breakfast is continental, buffet style and has a good variety of foods (coffee, toast, jam, eggs, fruit, cheese, etc).
For shoppers - Les Galeries de la Capitale is just across the street

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lefty_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    141
    44
    19
    10
See reviews for
106
90
9
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SOUTHAMPTON
Level Contributor
186 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

I had the pleasure of staying at the Grand Times Hotel in Quebec City for 3 nights. From the moment we entered the lobby we felt a warmth from the interior decorating, the glowing fire in a trendy glass housing and the warm smile of the receptionist. The rooms were terrific, the beds extremely comfortable, the staff were friendly, courtious, helpful etc. The only possible downside is the 15 min taxi ride into the centre but with a minimal cost (approx 17 dollars in the day and 25 in the evening), it wasn;t a real problem. Go there - you'll love it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGIBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
232 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

The hotel will be appreciated by people who love interior design. Located at a 20 minutes car drive from Old Quebec City near the big commercial centre of Galeries the hotel is completely smoking free (they charge you CAD 200 for extra cleaning if smoke is detected in your room). A very nice lobby (dark as the whole hotel) with changing lights, modern fireplace and non-stop music. Indoor heated pool o relax. The hotel presents itself as an hotel de tendance zen international. The main complaint is for breakfast. A continental breakfast buffet was included but served in a very small room, absolutely inadeguate for hotel’s guests. Tables are small and not comfortable and we had to wait for a free table while other guests had to seat in the lobby with their trays. Being the hotel environmental friendly breakfast is served in recycling small foam plates with plastic cutlery. Are you ready to accept this?

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalyMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

I chose this hotel because of the fabulous pictures I saw online. The room is very modern, but a little dark and the same size as any other standard room with 2 beds.

The lobby is large and modern with loads of seating and a flat screen tv. As a family we weren't hanging out in the lobby, but perhaps if you were meeting somewhere there for business you'd get use of it.

Breakfast was basic, but fine. Toast, bagels, cheese, hard boiled eggs and jfruit.

The only disappointment was the pool. Although clean, it is VERY small. A sign is posted that a maxium of 10 people are allowed in at one time. We were in at the same time as one other family and it was a challenge to stay out of each others way. So don't book this hotel based on lots of time at the pool.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K-W, Ontario
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Cost: $130 (much cheaper than most other Quebec City area hotels on that day).
Lobby area: Quite attractive and modern looking. Spacious with much seating under normal, non-breakfast situations.
Front desk staff: Excellent French-accented English. Very, very helpful.
Room cleanliness: Bathroom floor was NOT cleaned from the previous users. It had hair and reddish streaks on it. But, when we complained to the front desk about it, they took care of it right away. Furthermore, it turned out that the front desk person said that she went up personally to do it and then followed up with me, after I asked an unrelated question of her (even though I didn't recognize her) the next morning.
Room appearance: Decent looking but room seemed narrow. One of the walls was concrete, which made it seem like a prison when I walked in and saw it. Beds comfortable. Room modern.
Breakfast: A complementary continental breakfast was available in the morning. The otherwise-large lobby seating area was totally overwhelmed by the masses of people trying to get their food and eat. Most people had to sit on the benches with a plate on their laps. Lineups were common in a small food area. Whoever planned to have the one garbage container right next to the cereal/fruit/cheese area was an idiot. The centre island with the many breads, bagels, and muffin varieties was functional but very, very dirty with crumbs, random bread slices, and mostly-empty bags that used to contain the breads, etc. So, breakfast, although free, was not a positive, relaxing experience.
Overall: I'd recommend the hotel but not the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i_yac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2009

Stayed one night after Nostalgia '80 in Quebec City. The heating in the room was a combo unit in the window, very noisy (we had to shut it down for the night). No hot water in the morning. Strange humming noise every 1-2 minute. And parking was full when we came back in the night, had to park outside the property.

Breakfast ws disappointing: only fruits, cereals and bread... no muffins! Very very week coffee. Free WiFi network all over the place.

But, it is well decorated, beds are comfortable, nice plasma TV in the room.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
155 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2009

While not located in the central part of Quebec city, The Grand Times hotel was a short and very easy ride into Quebec, and with a little searching, we were able to find free (or very cheap) parking in the city--during one of its busiest winter weekends!

The Grand Times looks just like its website photos: it's located directly across from a huge mall, but the big cool gas fireplace in the lobby to greet you puts you in a good mood. The breakfast area is right off of the lobby entrance, as is the small indoor pool (lukewarm--too cool for my taste).

Check in was welcoming and quick, and our room--the Prestige Suite--was just great! Its modern style was cool but not cold. The sofa and chairs in the living room were very comfy and stylish too. The flat-screen TV was nicely placed, and my favorite--the electric fireplace that fired up at the touch of a switch- created the loveliest ambience!

The suite had a nicely-sized bedroom with a king bed. Instead of a fixed wall between the living room and bedroom, there was a floor to ceiling sliding wooden door, like a sliding closet door, only bigger and heavier. It gave a great amount of privacy but kept the suite opened up. (The living room sofa was very comfy, our friend said). The lighting seemed a bit dim--could have used another lamp or two--but it didn't bother us, seemed to match the ambience. The bathroom was spacious and had a marvelous jacuzzi ("therapeutic tub") and nice toiletries (but no bathrobes, what a shame).

The front desk was very helpful with directions, printing out maps to get us to our destination. SInce the hotel was only 10-15 easy minutes' drive from the city, it was easy to go in for some Carnivale activities, go back to the room to thaw out for a bit, then zip back into town. Not as inconvenient as I thought it would be.

Breakfast time (free) was very crowded but there is both a breakfast area to sit in, as well as a good amount of lobby seating for eating breakfast (including some before the fireplace). There were bagels and different breads, jams and peanut butter, fresh sliced fruit and whole fruit (apples, bananas), and the oddest thing: chicken salad in little cups (a nod to the European breakfast of sliced meats and cheeses at breakfast? ). We even made sandwiches one day (chicken salad, and peanut butter) to take with us for our long car journey home.

I will probably stay there next year at Carnaval time.

If you go in the winter, beware--the parking lot was very icy (as were many areas of the city). But at least parking was free and abuindant.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmwhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
#19 of 101 in Quebec City
772 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Times Hotel - Quebec City Airport
0.7 mi away
Hotel & Suites Normandin Quebec
Hotel & Suites Normandin Quebec
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Quebec City
Courtyard Quebec City
#47 of 101 in Quebec City
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites Quebec City
Quality Suites Quebec City
#88 of 101 in Quebec City
144 reviews
3.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Quebec Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Times Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Times Hotel

Property: Grand Times Hotel
Address: 5100 Boul des Galeries, Quebec City, Quebec G2K 2M1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#37 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Times Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quebec city's Grand Life The Grand Times Hotel is a newly built four star boutique style hotel with an exclusive urban architecture which combines luxury and comfort with state of the art technology to reflect the needs of business and leisure travelers. Relax in one of our 122 New York style design rooms and suites in a trendy ZEN decor. Allow yourself to be taken in by our unique cozy atmosphere and enjoy our complimentary healthy continental breakfast. An unforgettable rendez-vous with history and culture in an entirely smoke-free environment awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Times Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Times
Grand Times Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing