We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Manoir Charest
Ranked #102 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best deal in town”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is kept clean, the staff is most friendly and ready to accommodate. Location is perfect, it takes you to experience Quebec City with the locals. The price is most reasonable. A definite recommendation .

Room Tip: Good beds, soft linens, lots of towel supply.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    13
    13
    12
See reviews for
13
28
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I was visiting the city for 3 days and service and room were very nice and warm. Location of the hotel is also good. Breakfast is included with toasts, cereals, juice and coffe or the. I will definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SofiaPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2013

That is a really good place to stay. It is really central in downtown Quebec City, you can reach everything pretty fast. It is really clean and the owners are nice and helpful.
I would stay there every time again!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Budget-friendly and good-quality are two adjectives that don't always go together, with respect to hotels and hostels; but with Manoir Charest, rest assured that you'll find the perfect combination of both. I stayed here over Easter weekend 2013 upon the recommendation of a good friend who had lived in the city for 4 years until recently, and I had read beforehand the TripAdvisor reviews, which were mixed, so I went in not knowing what to expect. I ended up being pleasantly surprised by the warm reception of two dedicated co-owners (Marc and Alain), by the very clean rooms and public spaces, and by nice rooms that come equipped with a sink, a TV, an armchair, a commode, and a large, comfortable bed (I stayed on the top floor in a Standard Queen Room with Shared Bathroom). The hotel is very well located – within walking distance to all the major attractions and with a bus line right in front of it that will take you to Ste. Foy in about 30 minutes. It's pretty quiet (although, future travellers, this will of course always depend on what kind of neighbours you have). They also serve a free buffet breakfast in the morning - cereal, milk, coffee, bread, jam, peanut butter, fruit - that provides a nice closure to a homely stay. I highly recommend this place to all travellers, budget-conscious or not!

Room Tip: I stayed on the top floor. It was quiet and pleasant and I recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I spent a wonderful one week stay in the Manoir Charest Hotel at Quebec city. I really recommend this hotel to people who are looking for a cheap but really good hotel. You can get everything you like around (Restaurants, bus, stores, etc...)

Room Tip: All the rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmous01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We arrived on location very easily. In the center of downtown Quebec, very close to the historic and upper town areas. Access to the ongoing wonter carnaval was simple, and walkable! Parking was also provided, and continental was included. Staff was nice and helpful.
:)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nash_457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The photos for this hotel are laughable! Think more sad flophouse than thrifty/cozy.

Everything in our room was covered in a fine layer of dust. We had to pull furniture away from the wall to find a plug for our cell phones. No remote for the TV or drain stop in the sink. The furniture looked like it came from a Goodwill, and more in a curbside-after-dorm-room-exodus kind of way than in a cute, kitschy way. Even our curtain rod was broken so that the curtain dangled sadly in the middle of the window, allowing the streetlights direct access to our sleeping faces.

Breakfast was (admittedly good) bread and rotten, shriveled fruit that looked like it had been purchased weeks ago.

We opted for the shared bathroom to save money. We shared this hair-covered, mildewed bathroom with at least 7 people on our floor. After taxes, two nights came to $287. Next time we'll spring for the extra 40 dollars or so to stay in a less insultingly crappy place.

I will say that the young lady working the front desk was lovely, friendly and sweet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEwood_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
B&B Le Transit
#95 of 120 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Couette et Cafe a la Quebecoise
#50 of 120 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Couette et Cafe 253
#5 of 120 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Quebec City
B&B Centre-Ville
B&B Centre-Ville
#48 of 120 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Hotel Le Cavalier du Moulin
#41 of 120 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
L'Autre Jardin
#45 of 120 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manoir Charest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manoir Charest

Property: Hotel Manoir Charest
Address: 448 Dorchester, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 6B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Manoir Charest 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and cozy hotel in down town Quebec city, walking distance to all major attractions and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Manoir Charest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Manoir Charest Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing