We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dumplings!”
Review of Qing Hua Dumpling

Qing Hua Dumpling
Ranked #422 of 5,723 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent dumplings!”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

My family of 4 are here for lunch. We ordered 1 order of steamed bok choi and mushroom dumplings ($7.99) and 1 order of fried dumplings that were chicken and coriander. I think they were $7.99 plus $1.50 for frying. Each came with 15 good-sized dumplings. They were excellent.
You could watch the women behind the counter making the dumplings, which was neat.
All 4 of us were full after eating all of the chicken and 3/4 of the veggie dumplings - a great value.

Helpful?
Thank h b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    73
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good dumplings - service is friendly but unprofessional”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This shop has a long list of dumplings in the Northern Chinese idiom. They contain a bit of soup, but do not expect Shanghai-style xiaolong bao. They will steam, boil, or pan-fry the dumplings for you. Many different fillings are available, and they can do half and half on each order (of fifteen). The dumplings were satisfying, if not exceptional. The staff is enthusiastic, but not terribly well trained. Somebody commented online that the waitress could only see in front of her, and that seemed accurate. The floor of the establishment and the restrooms could be much cleaner. Overall, not a bad location for dumplings if you're in the museum area of Montreal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
145 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dumplings”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I ate at the St. Laurent location and ordered a bowl of their Hot and Sour soup and an order of pork and coriander steamed dumplings. I've had better Hot and Sour soup and would love to see these folks improve their version. But the dumplings were very tasty indeed. I was eating alone but still managed to eat all of the generous number of delicious dumplings. I will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isthmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beware!!! Addictive Dumplings!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I can't get enough of these dumplings. The $9.99 lunch deal is unbeatable. The lunch combo is served with soup, salad and 15 dumplings (delicious, beautiful, scrumptious, perfect little dumplings!) The service isn't great, the atmosphere isn't great, the restaurant itself isn't super easy to find - but, I have a serious addiction to those handmade dumplings!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hyde_grrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent & cheap! A must for dumpling fans!!!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I were told to try Qing Hua while in Montreal on honeymoon and it was one of the best meals we had!! We are big foodies (and big dumpling fans) so we ordered 3 kinds. BE WARNED - two people could easily share one-to-two orders with leftovers (depending on your appetite). We just wanted a little taste of everything... and everything we had was amazing. The curried beef was our favorite, but the pork (as stated in other reviews) was delicious as well.

Yes, it is a hole in the wall, but so worth it. Super inexpensive and filling!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Qing Hua Dumpling also viewed

 

Been to Qing Hua Dumpling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing