We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best dumpling restaurant in Montreal”
Review of Qing Hua Dumpling

Qing Hua Dumpling
Ranked #463 of 5,711 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Calgary
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best dumpling restaurant in Montreal”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I ate at this restaurant in August 2013. The decor is nice. The dining room and washrooms were clean. The service was friendly. The food was excellent.

If you like northern Chinese style dumplings, this is THE place to go. I prefer having my dumplings steamed and prefer to eat them with shredded ginger and vinegar. Other restaurants won't give you shredded ginger, but the waitress at this restaurant went to the kitchen to have a plate of it shredded for us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RTL898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    72
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“They need to work on the service and food quality”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We got there around 7pm and saw the service girl on the phone at the register desk. She just ignored us and like no one's coming in. It took us a while to seat in and we ordered two baskets of dumplings. One is cabbage with dried shiitake mushroom and the other is fish with leeks. The dumplings are much smaller in size compared to other ppl ordered next to us. We saw no or little shiitake in the veggie ones. The fish ones are very dry and too fishy. The dumplings are not fresh made but frozened. The center inner side of some dumplings are still cold. We maybe ordered the less popular dumplings on their menu. But shouldn't they stay in the same quality standard? The total is $37 for two dumpling orders with one small cucumber salad and one small bowl of soup. We had much better and less costy dumplings in other places.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chipmunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food but service needs help”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We walked in and there were people at two tables and one patron standing at the cash register counter. The rest was empty. After standing there for a while, we seated ourselves. We were sitting a while when I approached the waitress and asked quietly, "are we supposed to order at the register first?" She snapped, "I am the only waitress for the whole restaurant. Could you give me a minute?" So I figured out that meant that it is indeed waitress service... (I am still not sure if we were supposed to wait for seating.)

When she finally got to the table, the service was fine. They were out of all varieties with courgette (zucchini). I didn't comment but think it is a little strange because summer is in season.

Nonetheless, the food we were able to get was delicious! The dipping sauces were good too. My boys ate 2 baskets (15 pieces each!) of the tofu veg dumplings...

Cash only but they have an ATM inside..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank visitor_from_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Must Try!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just adored this place! Just got back from lunch. Small, quiet location. Good service and FANTASTIC dumplings! Very, very yummy - fresh and tasty. We had steamed Beef curry and steamed Chicken with Mushrooms with Miso soup and Wonton soup. (Cash only, ATM inside.) JUST GO!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Dumpling heaven”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Fresh, healthy, clean, bursting with flavor. Our 5 year old polished off a dinner sized portion, would go back to Montreal just to eat there. Been looking for similar places locally since we've come back home.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sb1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Qing Hua Dumpling also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Qing Hua Dumpling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing