We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dumplings are us”
Review of Qing Hua Dumpling

Qing Hua Dumpling
Ranked #439 of 5,710 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Level Contributor
275 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Dumplings are us”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

If it's authentic dumplings you are after, this is the place to go. Be prepared to wait for a table though as this is a very popular place in downtown Montreal. Each order has 15 dumplings in the basket and it might be a good idea if you are there with friends to order several kinds to share. They meal is very reasonably priced but they take cash only when it comes time to pay. The service is adequate and I also find the dumplings need a little sauce as they are bland just on their own.
Enjoy this tasty treat.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    72
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“I Want More of Those Dumplings!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I went here with a friend who had been to China many times & told me that Qing Hua was the closet thing to eating at a restaurant there. I wasn't sure what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised by the quality, taste, generous portions & reasonable prices. The service was also friendly, helpful and efficient. My friend & I shared two orders of dumplings - one curry beef and the other chicken & mushroom. Also one plate was steamed and the other fried (for $1.50 more). Both orders of dumplings were excellent, but if I had to recommend steamed or fried, I would go with the steamed. They are less heavy (& a healthier option in any event). Every meal comes with tea, but alcoholic beverages such as Chinese beer & sake, are also available.
Lastly, the week-day menu includes soup & a small salad with the dumplings. Even though the week-end menu didn't include these (when we were there), we still left completely satisfied.
All that's left to say, is that I was happy to be introduced to this quaint restaurant & can't wait to go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanadaPipa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Yummy dumplings, every time!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is my favorite casual Friday dinner!! The place is small and simple, the dumplings are sooooo delicious! Lots of choices, they are all good. We usually order the coriander/lamb, curry/boeuf, leek/pork/shrimp. We prefer them steamed. Service is fast and good. You can also buy them frozen for home. You gotta try this place if you haven't!!! Enjoy it with a great Tsingtao! :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElisabethM28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great dumplings. Very casual dining”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The dumplings in this place are out of this world! You can see them making them fresh and it's super tender dough with delicious soup fillings (stay away from the veggies ones as they don't have any soup filling)

It's a tad dingy but they have a newer more open one on st Laurent. It's great value for money, but expect a yummy casual dining experience and you won't leave disappointed!

It's in our regular repertoire of places to grab a bite! Totally recommend, as far as dumplings go, they are awesome!!! As far as ambiance and service, try their St Lauent branch as its friendlier and cleaner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canadiancazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you like dumplings it is the right place”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Excellent variety of dumplings to serve everybody's taste.Try the jellyfish salad it is the best very refreshing mix with the dumplings.Convenient location downtown if you have a show at Bell Center after.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReneeRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Qing Hua Dumpling also viewed

 

Been to Qing Hua Dumpling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing