We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, friendly service”
Review of McLean's Pub

McLean's Pub
Ranked #332 of 5,852 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Description: Built in 1910 by Military Tailor, R.J. Inglis, the building at 1210 Peel Street became the Rymark Tavern in the early 30's. For over 60 years the Rymark was a destination spot for Pigs Knuckles and Baked Beans. In 1992 McLean's Pub was established by the legendary Montreal barman, Ian McLean. Ian loved the warm and inviting atmosphere, with its oak beamed ceilings, hand carved fireplace, and many other unique features. With his incredible charm and a handpicked staff, Ian created a new pub on the scene. He has since passed, but his namesake and life's work is now a landmark pub in downtown Montreal!
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Was in Montreal for 3 days and visited this pub 3 times. The feel and service was good and slot machines in the back for some extra entertainment. Always sports on their many TVs and good beer selection. Try the Ciderman cider its awesome. Thanks Dave and staff

Thank neilrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart A, General Manager at McLean's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

What a great review - Cheers, man! I'm so pleased you enjoyed what we are trying to do. I'll let Dave and the night crew know what you had to say. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for McLean's Pub
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 144 of 183 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

We went here for lunch and had great Guinness while we waited for the best Steak Burger and fries. The food was very tasty and service attentive and friendly. We sat on the table on the sidewalk which although a little tight gave us a good view of life going by. Highly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joe9069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart A, General Manager at McLean's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed the food and service. You benefited, as well, from our terrace seating. It was our first year with it and what a difference it made to our business. Next time you are in Canada, please pop in and say hello!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Near to the tourist information centre and where the hop in hop off buses start their tours, this bar is centrally located. Very near to the Queen Elizabeth hotel.

Small outside drinking area and some inside seats next to openable windows.

Staff very pleasant and very willing to assist non locals. The Adams beer is available as a light colour or as a much darker beer. (Amber).

Worth a visit to rest those wary feet and take on some excellent beer's. Cheers.

Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart A, General Manager at McLean's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Hi Keith,

Thanks for the review and kind words. We aim to be the friendliest public house in the city and take pride in being ambassadors of our wonderful city. The Adams beer you were referring to is actually Alexander Keith's and is our top selling beer.

If ever you make it back to Montreal, please come by and have a chat with us!

Stuart Ashton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our first night in Montreal we ended up at McLean's at the bar. I asked a man who I thought was a patron "ou est la salle de bain?". He turned to me and said "first of all, we don't have a band, second of all, if we did...we wouldn't be selling it." He then said "this is why we want to separate". We then found out he was the bar manager and he proceeded to buy us a round of drinks so all good. He was very friendly and we had a good chat. The shot he gave us was a maple whiskey flavoured liqueur called Sortilege (spelling?). Yum! Check out the attached receipt for "The Band" lol!

Our second night we ended up back at McLean's but the manager wasn't working. We had a few drinks and it was a fun night.

Last night in Montreal we went back to this old stand by with a large group of co-workers. We ordered appies and had rounds of drinks. The food was not great, just ok (we had nachos, and yam fries which were really good and a few others that I can't recall because I might have indulged a bit in the beer) but the staff was friendly and the drinks were plentiful.

It's right on Peel so in a great location, staff is friendly, open till 3am like most pubs in Montreal, the bathrooms weren't great though. Oh well...it was still fun!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart A, General Manager at McLean's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Hi,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write us your review. Our night manager, Jay is quite the character. Hopefully the mocking led to laughter!

Sorry for the situation in the ladies washroom. We are in the middle of renovating and it was not yet finished. The work should be completed next week - maybe I'll post a pick.

Thanks again and hope to see you in the future!

Stuart Ashton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We just happened in on our last trip to Montreal and we found McLean's a very welcoming and fun place! The staff was very friendly, our favorite bartender Shawn exceptionally so. We visited a few times seeing it was close to our hotel. The poutine and burgers were excellent. We will be back in Montreal in November and one of our first stops will be back at McLean's.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gregoire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart A, General Manager at McLean's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Hi,

That's very nice of you to review us. Shawn is amazing. I'll let him know of your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed our food. See you in November!

Stuart Ashton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McLean's Pub also viewed

 

Been to McLean's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing