We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Italian Food”
Review of Elio Pizzeria

Elio Pizzeria
Ranked #723 of 5,772 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Lots of Italian Food”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

They give you a lot of food for a reasonable price. One in our party had a pizza filled with peperoni, cheese and peppers. The osso buco was very good with either pasta or potatoes and vegetables. Parking can be a problem here, but they do have a parking lot across the street.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling-Couple02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    51
    13
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My sister and her family and ours (total of 8) went for pizza after coming back from skiing. The reception was a little cold however the food was great and our waitress was really pleasant. We also bought the homemade pasta and sauce sold at the restaurant which were great. We will be back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FerrMasli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bang for your buck and excellent food.”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is a family owned restaurant and I have been going there for 30 years. Best pizza and home made pasta in town. Your typical Italian trattoria style eating place.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ginoMontreal_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst pizza ever!”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Burned pizza served by smart ... waiter anyone? Menu read “traditional pizza since 1964”; I did not have the courage to complained, since they are in business for such a long time. This was the first time and last time.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Slonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing Value, Pretty Good Food”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I love old style family run restaurants and this place has been open since 1964.
The location is nothing to brag about but easily accessible by 2 major streets (St-Denis and St-Laurent).

The decor is OK and there is a terrace, was not expecting much anyway.
What shines is the food, I don't eat pasta that often, but when it's home made and cheap, you can't go wrong.

I got a daytime special, $13 for an appetizer of rigatoni (which was so big that it can be considered an entree in some places) and a charcoal rib steak with leafy green salad. The steak was fresh, tender and juicy, even the fat was edible. They have a spicy olive oil at the table and i drizzled up everything in sight for an extra kick.

My mother and her neighbor got rigatoni dishes as mains ($12), they came with a choice of appetizer (salad, soup or cheese and tomato). The portions were gargantuan.
The homemade sauce included anchovies, olives, mushrooms and capers.

This is an amazing value, the pasta dishes are also about 5-6 dollars cheaper than in Little Italy a couple of blocks away, so for 3 people, with tax and tip, you can save a good $25 to $30. There is a large selection of pasta and pizza dishes, and some fish and meats as well.

Service is adequate, they were not too busy when we went, the waiter was prompt and left a water pitcher for our table, which all restaurants should do.
I will definitely go back and try the pizza, I heard it's one of the best around.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mustsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elio Pizzeria also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Elio Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing