We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Food & Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Universel

Cafe Universel
Ranked #866 of 5,657 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We found this cafe while walking back to our hotel and we were so glad we decided to give this a try. The brunch here was so amazing that we decided to have our dinner here as well. Great food place to check out while in Montreal!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xue888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lots of fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

One of the few places that serves breakfast 24/7 this great little spot has a nice outdoor seating area and a vast menu. There's usually a short wait for a table, but it's worth it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kurt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Waffles I ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

without a doubt they had the best waffles I have ever had. That is all you need to know about this place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The rudest waitress”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

First and last time we come to this restaurant. Very disappointed about the service we got from a young girl. We got the worst service we could imagine. We had to ask for drinks missing 4 times, her attitude was arrogant, she threw the dishes when bringing the food to the table. We had to beg her to give us a minute to order desserts and finally when paying the bill, we did not even got a smile or a thank you for the tip we gave her.
Can not believe a rude person like her works as a waitress in a down town restaurant and even worse ON FRIDAY EVENINGS. We were 10 people, any of us will come back there. Do not know the name of the girl but we were there on April 19, 2013 around 7:00 pm and we sat in the back part of the restaurant.
There is another branch of Cafe Universel on St. Denis street, we have been their clients for more than 4 years, the service is very nice there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Well worth the walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I'm not sure why this cafe is listed as Cafe Universel--I saw this name nowhere in the cafe itself, nor on the marquee outside. There it is called Bistro Tot ou Tard. Thus, after a 15 minute walk through slushy winter streets, I was at first a little unnerved, and almost didn't go in. It's a very unprepossessing place from the outside, and looks a bit like a dingy greasy spoon. Very retro interior, and exterior looks somewhat seedy. If only because the next available breakfast spot was several blocks away and I was starving, I ventured in. Good idea! Very attentive servers, hip music, people of all ages, ethnicities and walks of life, great coffee (the 'bol' of latte is HIGHLY recommended) and superb food. The eggs florentine were done beautifully--nay, perfectly!--accompanied by divine home fried potatoes, a toasted baguette and exotic fruits in the ideal state of ripeness. This was the Sunday brunch of my dreams. It turns out I had arrived just in time...by noon the place was packed. I'll be back...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Universel also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Universel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing