We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very overpriced restaurant in downtown Montreal”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of SOFIA TRATTORIA VINERIA - CLOSED

SOFIA TRATTORIA VINERIA
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Cross street: Between Rue Sherbrooke & de Maisoneuve
Transit: Metro: Peel Street
Description: A beacon of style and culinary sophistication in the heart of downtown Montreal. The restaurant is undeniably the epitome of cosmopolitan fine-dining not only for dinner and cocktail hour, but for its classic yet playful business lunch. Vast combinations of fresh flavor sensations are showcased in the restaurants imaginative seasonal menus that showcase the best market fresh ingredients….opulent and extraordinary on every gastronomic level!
canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A very overpriced restaurant in downtown Montreal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This restaurant is vastly overpriced for the quality of food served. Service is extremely poor and you will be ignored by the wait staff once they realize that you are not ordering more drinks from their showcase bar. They tend to cater to larger groups that drink a lot. Much better choices for Italian food abound in Montreal so unless you want to see and be seen, stay away from here. It's also very noisy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smallface1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    29
    20
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ELEGANT DINNING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The entire atmosphere is pure elegance , the entire front doors were open and a nice breeze swept through the dining room making the dining experience more memorable .

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a place to go to.. especially on thursdays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

It's one of the better spots in town to eat, enjoy a good atmosphere and getting good service. Have the sommelier recommend an excellent wine pairing for dinner.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jamesla76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Tremblant, Canada
1 review
“Good food.. Un-attentive Service..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Came on a Wednesday night, waitress never presented herself to us, didnt explain menu or catch of the day.. busboy brings bread no butter, my water glass was empty all night, i order a second bloody ceasar, never receive it.. the waitresses here dont know service.. i ask for lemon wedges for the oysters, she brings me sliced lemons, the kind you put on a rim of a glass! how can i squueze these i say laughing to her..what else.. the food was good.. oh ya, the filet mignon was suposed to be encrusted with pine nuts of some sort.. it wasnt.. i asked the waitress she tries to bs me a story or how its is rubbed on the steak.. i ask her to go check with the kitchen, she comes back saying sorry the pjne nuts arent available.. our waitress was out of touch with us, never c hecked on us to see how it was untill i was done.. thats bad..

this place is over expensive and the waitressses are bimbos with no sevice experience and the maitre d at the door looks like he dont wanna be there either.. AVOID.
There is better around that area to dine.. Overpriced and fake..

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chic dining near Rue St. Catharine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great food! We had early weekend reservations and the service was good, not excellent, despite the restaurant being half empty. Female servers all wore low cut, tight black dresses which might offend American sensibilities but is very much in the European style. There was lots of seating; the bathroom was downstairs--no elevator. Great wine list! The decor was contemporary. Easy walk to hotels, shops, museums, and easy to catch a cab. Pleasant dining experience. Would certainly eat there again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DocRAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SOFIA TRATTORIA VINERIA also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing