We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliciously vegan.”

Chu Chai Thai Vegetarian Cuisine
Ranked #166 of 5,772 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Burlington, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Deliciously vegan.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I went to this restaurant on a recommendation from a friend and was not disappointed. The wait staff were very friendly, food came hot and prompt, and the atmosphere was nice and romantic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kibertcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    60
    9
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, pleasant atmosphere, good drinks”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Food is great - some of the dishes a bit spicier than we expected but that's Thai for you. Not many dessert options, but lots of tasty drinks. And friendly staff, which is always a plus!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gmckendr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful veggie options”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Visited this restaurant this weekend. Far exceeded my expectations. The seaweed appetizer was amazing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pxb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It takes me two hours to Chu Chai from home, but it's worth it!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I've been to Chu Chai twice, and loved it even more the second time. My friend and I got the a la carte menu, $100 for 2, including drinks, a sampling of 5 appetizers, 4 entrees, and a sampling of 3 desserts and some palate cleansers. It's enough food for 4, but we ate just about all of it. I wasn't hungry again until 8 p.m. the next day. So, so good, even a vehement carnivore will be happy at Chu Chai. The service is fantastic and the atmosphere is cool without feeling more-hipster-than-thou. Love it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JessicaVTfliesaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow, what an amazing restaurant”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Went for a holiday lunch with 9 work colleagues. I didn't tell them we were eating vegetarian since they probably wouldn't have wanted to come. Turns out they all LOVED every dish, and all promised to come back often. The food was excellent. Each dish was flavourful, carefully prepared and presented. You must try the 5 Flavours appetizer.

This is a must-not-miss restaurant for anyone. Even the most carnivorous of eaters will be satisfied, and not in the 'well it was OK for vegetarian' kind of way.

Price is very reasonable and the decor is very cool with the Thai themed mural by Montreal's renown EnMasse art collective.

Try this place once, and you'll already look forward to your next visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chu Chai Thai Vegetarian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Chu Chai Thai Vegetarian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing