We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somwehere else.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Appartements Trylon
Ranked #12 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Reviewed September 1, 2010

I spent 9 nights in Studios Montreal, room 10 on floor 23. I have just found out that what I thought were mosquito bites all over my arms and legs are actually bites from BED BUGS. Do not stay here unless you can be assured that they have the place exterminated. Or better still find somewhere else to stay - the sink was rusty, the bath was stained, the towels were threadbare, etc. If I had not paid for the whole stay up front I would have moved out.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank AuntieGailC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 131 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2010

Where do I begin? I stayed here the first half of August 2010. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were a decent size with nice appliances, HOWEVER: The wireless internet is absolutely horrible. You can't even get decent reception in the common area (which was nice itself), not to mention the rooms! Even the wired internet went out for 3 days! Every outlet in my room had two plugs, but only one works at each outlet! So I would literally have to unplug the TV to turn on the lamp. They have a sorry excuse for a gym. There were spiders lurking in EVERY corner. Laundry was expensive and the payment card method they have set up is asinine because you can only charge the card using bills ($5 minimum) and to wash and dry clothes cost $4. To make matters worse, they will not refund any left over money! In general, I would have expected much more attention to detail and responses to complaints for the price they are charging.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warrenem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

This place is great if you're traveling with friends. For about 50$ per head, you get private, fairly spacious, tastefully decorated rooms, with a fully equipped kitchen, a bathroom and in some cases, a balcony. The building is secure, clean, has its own underground parking and is located a few blocks away from the Place des Arts (the heart of downtown Montreal) and the subway. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone on a budget, especially those who don't feel compelled to stay in a private hostel room or a university dorm. The staff is very nice and helpful.

Watch out though if you have to cancel your stay there. Unless you defer it, they will charge you one night's worth if you cancel less than 7 days in advance.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spartina75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

The pictures on the site are done in a way to make the place look modern, the building is over 35 years old. The area is full of students. The service sucks!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BLAIRDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

The previous review from last year is still spot on. The Trylon was recommended by someone local who had lived there over 15 years ago. I can imagine that it must have been rather nice then but 20 years or so later it could do with an update. The pictures on their website were far more inviting than the real thing, and when we first entered the apartment we were quite disappointed with the dated furniture and old kitchen and bathroom fittings. However we soon got used to that , and by the end of the week it didnt seem quite as bad as on the first day. The location was great, quite close to the university and the streets around the apartment block were full of lovely houses and university students sitting with their lap tops in cafes - lovely feel to the area when you walked around the back streets. The office running the block seemed very efficient and it would appear they have security cameras fitted all over the building which they have on continually in their office. I also didnt use the pool or gym, but I spoke to several people who said they used it and were happy with it. We spoke to several of the residents some of whom had lived there since it was built, its an odd mixture of older people with dogs, students from the nearby university and tourists. Personally we quite liked this mix. The lifts seemed to take forever, but then there are 22 floors. I spent an afternoon on the roof which has amazing views soaking up the sun, but its also not particularly well maintained. One concern of ours was when the fire alarm went off. There were no instructions on the doors and when we looked outside the hallway no one seemed to know what to do. However everyone followed their instincts and took the stairs downstairs and waited outside for 4 fire engines to arrive. Quite an event, there were more flashes from peoples cameras than from any fire. False alarm, someones burning toast had set off the alarm, but it did get us thinking about our safety. We saw no staff during this period and it was only when the firemen came out that we assumed it was okay to go in! Strange to say the least. Although we were disappointed I certainly wouldnt rule this place out completely. The general area where the computers for the internet are located was on several occassions rented out to private groups and therefore not available to paying guests which was quite inconvenient. Compared to the price of hotels I think this was good value and it was nice to be self catering. Dont however expect to get balcony with your apartment as these are probably let out to the long term tennants. Oh and its really close to Mont Real which is a big bonus as its a lovely area to walk and run.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank goodtogethome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

After staying for more than year in this building, the only positive side was the reception employees who were helpful and courteous. Everything else is a BIG DECEPTION.
I’ve rented a studio for almost a year and had nothing but problems.
Shower did not work, the oven crashed 7 times , the refrigerator was noisy, the doors does not open , lockers stuck with paint and don’t open , NOISE and lots of noise all day long ! This is not even a 2 stars hotel !

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ghassf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

Our family (two middle-aged adults and three sons in their 20s) stayed here in late May-early June. We were very pleased with the two apartments we had. Having a full kitchen (including utensils as well as a refrigerator, stove, coffee maker, hot water heater for tea, and microwave) helped us save a good bit by having some meals at the apartment. The Trylon has a range of residents, short and long term from business people to grad students. It has a pool, laundry facilities, and an indoor parking garage. We found the latter rather a tight fit and used public transit, but you have in-and-out privileges and an assigned space. (Sign up for parking when you make your reservation.) There is a very complete supermarket a block away (lots of carry out and international food) and two more food markets inside an underground shopping center about a block and half away. You are within walking distance (10-15 minutes) of many restaurants and stores on St. Laurence (including Schwartz's smoked meat and the gourmet ice cream store, Ripples.) You are about a five minute walk (about two blocks) to the Metro, Place-des-Arts station. You can walk in good weather to other nearby sites including the McGill Univ. area and the Latin Quarter. Overall, a good stay in a good location at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rtaba285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,526 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,762 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#40 of 165 in Montreal
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#54 of 165 in Montreal
876 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
L'Appartement Hotel
L'Appartement Hotel
#38 of 165 in Montreal
772 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Samesun Montreal Central
Samesun Montreal Central
#1 of 100 in Montreal
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appartements Trylon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appartements Trylon

Address: 3463 Sainte-Famille | Suite 109, Montreal, Quebec H2X 2K7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Price Range: $88 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Appartements Trylon 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Appartements Trylon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appartements Trylon Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing