We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Boustan

Boustan
Ranked #329 of 5,719 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Description: Voted Best Middle-Eastern Restaurant in the Montreal Mirror in 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012. Best Middle-Eastern and Late-Night Eats in the CultMTL Best of Montreal 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 editions.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We went to Boustan with a friend who lives in Montreal. It was my first time having Lebanese, and I never would have thought to try out this place, but so very glad we did. It was fabulous. Service was great, very friendly and fast. Food was so tasty! We keep thinking about it and havnig nothing that even compares to it now that we are back home! The next time we go back we will definitely go there again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tacmgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    52
    18
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Cheap but good Lebanese food! Former Canadian Prime Minister Pierre Elliott Trudeau was a frequent customer until he died. Open very late and perfect for your cravings at any hour!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Sooooo Good mmm I want one right now”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

To be honest we ran into this place unsuspectingly. We were hanging out on Cresent street and needed to eat something quick. We asked a local where we should go and she recommend this place.

Yes ... it is a whole in the wall, but honestly who cares. The food is sooo delicious. You have to try the chicken shawarma with the works!!! Get the combo which comes with potatoes and then get some garlic sauce on top of the potatoes!! Honestly this is one of the best finds I have ever had. The food was ground breaking ... I have only had shawarma once before this and it was nothing to write home about. This place now has me wanting more and now I am looking to find somewhere close to home that is even 1/3 of the goodness that this place is.

We went at around 11pm and it wasn't too busy. If there is a big line just be patient. The food is well worth it. We got 2 meals and it was only about $12. By far the best tasting cheapest meal I have EVER had ... no lie. Give it a try and you will not be disappointed. I should have asked to buy some garlic sauce to take home ... that stuff is golden!!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lindzngreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic at what they do”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Boustan is a deceptively hole-in-the-wall-appearing place on Crescent street out of which comes wonderful Lebanese food. The owner is enthusiastic and loves to share his enthusiasm for his cuisine.

Food is tasty, fresh, and cheap. I always see students loading up on affordable meals, late-night partiers getting drunk snacks, etc. They deliver quite late, so I'll often order to my hotel while I'm packing at the end of a trip.

I just love this inexpensive little place.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“LOVE Boustan”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Boustan does the best shawarma in Montreal, and their garlic potatoes are to die for. We get it every time we come to Montreal.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Edrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boustan also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Boustan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing