We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, Inexpensive but staff not overly helpful”

Little Sheep Mongolian Hot Pot
Ranked #1,277 of 5,668 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good, Inexpensive but staff not overly helpful”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've been coming to this restaurant for some years during trips to Montreal. Its inexpensive, and the food is pretty good, great for someone on a budget. I haven't been to Montreal for two years and during this trip I went back for a quick lunch. The place has been renovated and the buffet style of getting the things for your hotpot is goon, you now order and they bring it to you, I liked the old way. Plenty of meat when you order it so still well worth the trip, I just liked it the old way.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ealhbrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    26
    16
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious hot pot”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Have been there a few times (and also the one in Brossard) and I really love it. I always take the regular broth. Even though I like heat, the spicy broth is too fiery for my taste. You can make your own dipping sauce with a whole bunch of condiments. The waiter brings you a couple of plates of very thinly sliced meat and the rest you get at the buffet.

The lamb is delicious and melts in your mouth, as does the beef. The mussels and big headed shrimps always end up in my pot and I love the wide variety of items in the buffet: assorted greens, asian mushrooms, quail eggs, fish heads, tofu, stomachs (never had it but my bf eats it every time) ... Also the little sweet buns are unbelievable. There's a sweet sugary sauce to put on top but I usually just love dipping it in my savory sauce. YUM.

Be sure to go at night because i believe they don't serve seafood for lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie30682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
244 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Mongolian Hot Pot”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Clearly not what was expected – if being honest I thought it was just a restaurant, where you go in, and select from the menu, but actually choosing what you wanted, and then cook it yourself is something different. The food was really good, hot, and you had a good choice. Having experienced this side once is perhaps enough, but if I can muster enough friends it would be good to have a different type of night out

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kelmci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“best hot pot i've had outside china”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

authentic hot pot. terrific service, good choices, and great prices. we'll be back. we'll even drive 3 hours for dinner.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank igolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly/Cozy Restaurant!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Funny restaurant where you have to cook you own food!
They give you a hot pot, and you choose whatever you want to add in it, it's awesome, food is fresh, a lot of choice!

It might be a little bit too pricey IMO, but still, you go there for a special event once in 2/3 months and it's alright.

Be aware that the spicy hot pot is really spicy! You'll get sweaty before the end of the lunch!
I think it's a place where you could easily hang out with friend, avec a bubble tea (or before?), have fun, sharing food and so on!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hans Jules B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Sheep Mongolian Hot Pot also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Little Sheep Mongolian Hot Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing