We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love cuisine minceur, go for it!”
Review of Laurie Raphael

Laurie Raphael
Reserve with OpenTable
Laurie Raphael is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #117 of 5,719 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $102
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“If you love cuisine minceur, go for it!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I went to this restaurant because it was in the Germain hotel and we didn't want to go back out on a cold winter's night. Be warned - this is cuisine minceur to a fare-thee-well. If you want huge portions go elsewhere. But after figuring out where we were, and deciding to go with the adventure of it, we warmed to the place. Yes the portions are small and you might want to go for three rather than two courses. The chopped raw scallops in a ginger/grapefruit broth (cold) was quite good, and the scampi (one) in a mushroom broth with fennel sauerkraut was delicious, although very slow in coming (we got a free glass of wine in compensation). The Quebec cheese plate was also very good. The wines by the glass are excellent. Servers know their stuff and are very friendly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prairieboy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    67
    34
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a great chef surprise menu”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Magnificient presentation of the food, and great ambiance
Chef surprise menu was great and priced reasonably for such a restaurant.

The beef tartare was great but a bit small

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
483 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“What a disappointing experience”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I reserved a table for a business dinner. The service was so slow that after sitting down at 7:30PM most of us left at 9:30PM before the waiter offered the desserts.
The portions are absolutely ridiculous for the price (the waiter told us that we should select 3 to 4 items for a dinner???????), One of my guests ordered a salmon tartare that was at leat one fourth of what she got the day after at Le Pied de Cochon, the day after for $16.00. My wild mushoom tart tasted great but so tiny for $18.00.
My hanger steak was two tiny pieces, less than 80 grams. A joke for $25.00.
As mentioned, the service was extremely slow, we drank more wine than expected.
The day after, during our team breakfast, everyone, including three slim and diet concerned ladies complained about waking-up in the middle of the night as they were starving. A couple of my guys ordered pizza.

A very poor experience compared to Jerome Ferrer's Europea.

While I enjoy staying at Le Germain, I will never return to Laurie et Raphael.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Guillaumeleconqueran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, cozy environment”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had put off going to this restaurant as it's reviews were not (at all) as good as it's Quebec city sister. The recent reviews had changed so we went.

We decided on the tasting menu which was seven courses + 1 amuse-bouche. We also took the wine pairings. The food was original, well executed and quite good. The only dish that wasn't as good was the main dish (!) as it was "only" very good. The service was attentive and discreet. The sommelier was very helpful esp. when we let him recommend rather that direct him.

The decor is nice although very "Hotel-like". One of the rare restaurants that you can hear each other's conversation - what a treat !

A very good experience !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jssurleplateau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax, n.s.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have had many beautifully presented exquisite meals here. Fresh ingredients artfully prepared, delicious always.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank pozzuolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laurie Raphael also viewed

 

Been to Laurie Raphael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing