We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, near airport, a bit hard to get to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Montreal Airport
Ranked #25 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Southeast USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, near airport, a bit hard to get to”
Reviewed July 7, 2008

I stayed there to be close to the airport for an early flight on a Monday morning. The property opened in March '08, and it is by far the best Fairfield Inn I've stayed in. The rooms are magnificent, very well kept, and just an all-around beautiful hotel.

The location is somewhat hard to get to when driving. The trick is to go to Dorval Avenue back and around over to Michel Jasmin avenue. It's well worth checking out an online map if you're headed to that hotel. [I was a Montreal local for 26 years and it still took my local friend & I over 10 minutes to find the way to get there!]

The hotel is of course close to the airport, and in a mostly industrial area, so forget about walking anywhere from that location.

  • Liked — New and clean
  • Disliked — Hard to get to.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Southeast_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    224
    50
    8
    7
See reviews for
156
154
35
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2008

Stayed here because of airport proximity. Had not previously stayed in a Fairfield and was really impressed by the friendly, helpful staff, the convenient services, and the good value. Facilities were very nice -- I thought the small fitness room was well equipped for this level of hotel. Indoor pool looked well maintained. They provided some good restaurant recommendations and a map to the nearest gas station (not far), but roads are very confusing in that area since there are so many highways coming together. Room was clean, comfortable, and a good size. Cont. breakfast was good, including belgian waffles you can make yourself. My only complaint was the noise from the trains -- quite loud even at the highest floors. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Staff and facilities
  • Disliked — Noise from trains
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegoBusyWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2008

Travelling by car, in town two nights to attend a family function.. The location of this brand new hotel was a nightmare. It is situated on the edge of two roundabouts (all signs in french) which facilitate entry to the airport. Please keep in mind that we grew up in this area and are very familiar with the "Dorval Circle" flow of traffic but there are no words to describe how difficult it is get get to this hotel. If I found it a challenge to get to, I cannot begin to imagine what a tourist would go through to get to this location. When we finally did arrive I asked the desk clerk to give me his rendition of directions and if I'd followed his directions I'd still be in the car!! I can't fault him however, because I don't even think I could give directions in this case, it simply defies words.

Oh the noise.......This hotel is located directly beside a major train station and freight line. With freight trains passing 200 feet from your room all night don't expect to get any sleep.

The hotel itself is brand new, the room was very nice, exceptionally clean and the staff are friendly. No faults there, everything you would expect from a Marriott hotel. (I'd give the hotel itself 4 stars). The rate is quite reasonable however the trade off of location an noise is just not worth the savings. I would have gladly paid an extra $60 per night to get some sleep.

Sorry to say but we would recommend giving this GEM a miss.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — terrible physical location extremely loud freight trains
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LBTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2008

Just stayed there after long flight from Rome. Glad to be back at a Marriott style Hotel. Very kind front desk people. Brand new Hotel, as was less then 2 months old when we stayed. Increadibly clean and good breakfast. 32inch LCD Tv was a bonus. Big rooms and Marriott level bedding which we always appreciate. Watch out as cabs charge a minimum $12 from Airport to about 2km from Airport, a ripoff. Take the shuttle for free. Recommend it as a GREAT STAY.

  • Liked — Brand New
  • Disliked — Cab fare from Airport
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadalovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2008

The Fairfield at the Montreal airport is more like a 5 star property than your standard Fairfield. I usually stay at Marriott properties and normally find the Fairfield line a little less expensive but quite sufficient compared to the Courtyard or high rise selections, so I was prepared for the usual Fairfield level of hotel. This particular one was very new and so clean you could eat off the floor if desired. There wasn't a speck of dirt or dust anywhere in the entire hotel and the lobby is quite impressive. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Location to the airport and cleanliness of the entire hotel.
  • Disliked — Everything was perfect
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mb7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montreal
Dorval / Airport / Train Station
Aloft Montreal Airport
Aloft Montreal Airport
#46 of 164 in Montreal
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorval / Airport / Train Station
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Airport
Novotel Montreal Aeroport
#69 of 164 in Montreal
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Montreal Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Montreal Airport

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Montreal Airport
Address: 700 Avenue Michel Jasmin | Quebec, Montreal, Quebec H9P1C5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#20 Family Hotel in Montreal
#27 Business Hotel in Montreal
#43 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Montreal Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Montreal-Trudeau International Airport, Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Montreal Airport is a prime Montreal hotel for travelers. Guests of our Marriott Hotel in Montreal, Canada, enjoy comfortable accommodations at a superior value, whether they are visiting for business or pleasure. We serve continental breakfast daily and provide 24-hour shuttle service to and from the airport. Located at the junction of Highway 20 and Highway 520, our Montreal airport hotel's locations is only a 20-minute drive to downtown. Entertainment options, such as the Formula 1 Grand Prix du Canada, Olympic Stadium, Montreal’s International Jazz Festival and Osheaga Music and Arts Festival, are just a few attractions that make Montreal one of Canada’s most vibrant multicultural cities. For sport fans, the Montreal Canadians NHL team and the Impact MLS soccer team guarantee an exciting show. Marriott Rewards and AAA discounts are just some of the many offers redeemable at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Montreal Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Marriott, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Montreal Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Montreal Airport
Fairfield Inn & Suites Montreal Airport Hotel Montreal
Fairfield Inn Montreal
Montreal Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing