We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Da Giovanni

Da Giovanni
Ranked #1,133 of 5,772 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Augusta, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Food was good, reasonable price, clean restaurant , Would recommend anytime. Loved the atmosphere and the waitresses were efficient and friendly.I loved the pizza! Good size portion for the money and the special of the day was more that enough food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RAL102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    34
    35
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious pasta and sauce!!!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great Italian restaurant and the prices were very reasonable and the desserts were delicious! We had the table d'hote for about $20 and it came with soup, pasta and of course the delicious dessert

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank caplanjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cheap and delicious”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This became a staple for our afternoon meals. The portions are huge, the food was tasty and the price tag was reasonable. The service was generally great. I recommend the calzone con pollo, the chicken parmigiana and the Cesar salad with grilled chicken

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mdguy2183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
1,745 reviews
852 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 592 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food for a good price”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This place has a mix of Italian dishes as well as French and North American options. The service was ok. Not fast/slow good/bad, just ok. The escargo (snails) with mushrooms and garlic butter were amazing. This was the best part of the meal other than my GIANT meatball. I should have skipped the salad, it was ok, but nothing special. Overall, very good place to eat once or twice.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“an ok place for an italian dish”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I walked into this place since it was close to my hotel. I got seated at a table which was pretty tiny but not too bad. I noticed that a lot of people were running around with dishes, glasses, food,... it didn't seem to be that organized at first sight. However, my order was taken a few minutes later and I choose the trio of pasta. In contrary to what I was expecting, it got served quickly. There was also free garlic bread.
The food was ok but not marvellous. The spaghetti bolognese was just as in any other place and not specificaly good. The tagliatelli and gnocchi were ok. Unfortunately the flavours were mixing up since they were all put together on the plate. So the different sauces got mixed.
Overall I wouldn't call this a spectacular must do place but the food was acceptable and served quickly so if you're around you might as well hop in.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter_53421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Giovanni also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Da Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing