We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to spent an evening with friends”
Review of Taza Flores

Taza Flores
Ranked #2,248 of 5,816 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $20 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Description: A mosaic of Flavours! Bar Taza Flores offers tapas in an enticing variety of flavours, aromas and colours. An adventure for all your senses! The Spanish tradition of sipping a glass of wine or a cool draft while munching on tapas (appetizer-sized dishes) comes alive in Mile End with a special Mediterranean touch. Heavy On Taste Light On Your WalletIf your mouth is watering in anticipation but your mind is dreading the bill, be reassured. The tapas here remain very affordable, which allows you to experiment with various flavours and make it home without depleting your wallet. Alcohol-wise, the bar has various scotches, ports, Spanish wines, beers and cocktails. Happy hour always starts at 4pm but ends at different times depending on the day. Exotic Surroundings Bar Taza Flores’ mismatched chairs, various paintings and exotic paraphernalia ranging from antiques to more modern and funky objects make you relax as soon as you enter. Montrealers, known for their love of terraces, can continue their love affair with the outdoors and sip a glass under the sun, weather permitting. They also have special nights, like flamenco night and other live entertainment events; check their website to see what’s coming up.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A great way to spent an evening with friends”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went here for a friends party. We were about 20 people. It's a relatively small restaurant, so we were at 3 different tables, the largest holding 10 people. We were told, when we received the invitation by our hostess, that we would be having the group menu at 34$ with 13 different Tapas. Service wasn't complicated since we were all having the same thing (except for drinks). It still took a while before the food arrived (at least 30 minutes) but we had good drinks at great company for conversation, so we didn't care. Some of us made the mistake of filling up on bread as we waited for the food. For the next 2 or 2 1/2 hrs the food just kept coming and coming (that's 1 new dish every 10 minutes X 13) that's a lot of food. Most important, it was a great variety and all tasted excellent.

A great way to spent an evening with friends

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelcunnuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Tapas, Maybe Not Dinner....”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I came here for Taste MTL and was not disappointed. $19 for three Tapas is a great deal, especially when you consider the quality of the food and the comfortable atmosphere. This restaurant looks like a really hip mile-end apartment that's been converted into a commercial space. The decoration is tasteful -- think vintage posters on the walls, exposed brick, coffered tin ceiling, and my favourite, dry branches with white lights hanging over the bar-- without being overdone. It's romantic and intimate but also seems like it would lend itself well to a small meeting among close friends.

It was a little strange when we walked in. We had a reservation, but were seated at a table in the back next to the bathrooms. When I asked our host if we might be able to get one of the tables near the front window, he pointed to the signs that said "Reservée" and told me they were reserved. I was more than a little confused since we had a reservation but were not seated at a table with a reservée sign. Either this place has super-reservations, or there were some famous people dining there that night who I was not familiar with.

All that being said, our waitress was incredibly sweet throughout the whole evening. When discussing which wine we should order by the glass, offered to let us taste the two we were deciding between. The cocktail menu and the wine list are nothing to write home about, but they're well priced and the wine list includes a few interesting discoveries.

Now for the food. I began with the ceviche: tilapia with lime juice, coconut milk, coriander and ginger. For tapas the portion size was quite generous and it was lovely and refreshing dish. The cutting acidity of the lime was well balanced by the coconut milk and the coriander lent it a nice herbacity. My fiancee had the beef carpaccio which was quite good. No strange twists like you get in far too many restaurants trying to re-invent the wheel these days, just razor-thin beef slices, peppery-fresh arugula and parmesan shavings.

Course number two involved the Cod Fritters for me and the Goat cheese croutons with grilled vegetables for my fiancee. Like the Carpaccio, the Cod Fritters were simple: just three traditional little fishcakes filled with delicious flaky Cod. The spicing was interesting, a little peppery and possibly some Old Bay which was nicely balanced by the tartar sauce. My fiancee's dish a little bit of a letdown, some slices of baguette with semi-firm (brie-like) goat cheese melted on little pieces of grilled vegetables. It was fine, but less exciting than she expected.

Our final course included the Chorizo with a balsamic reduction and the artichoke stuffed with ham, bacon and mushrooms. To be honest, I found the Chorizo a little too spicy and was disappointed to find out that they did not make the sausage themselves. The stuffed artichoke was good, but the bacon/ham/mushroom combo was in a very rich cream sauce which made the dish just a little too heavy.

All this being said, I would absolutely come back to Taza Flores without hesitation. It's a great place to grab a drink or two with some friends and to have some great snacks. I might not come back specifically for dinner, but then again, Tapas and Dinner are two very different meals. Taza Flores excels at Tapas and is a lovely place to hang out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjb320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“everything was great”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

tapas in spain is bar food. u stand at the bar and eat what you want, then pay for it. north americans typically try to turn it into dinner. gaza does a good job.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenFromMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, cozy and delicious!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This little tapas place is a real gem! Their tapas are simply delicious...My personnal favorites are the baba ganoujh, the goat cheese pizza and the tajine... The decor is cozy and charming, and the crowd is relaxed! The taxes are included in the prices of the menu so you generally have a pleasant surprise when the check comes! There's a happy hour every night of the week do it's aperfect for late afternoon hotspot...in the summer, the lovely terrace allows for a nice evening out...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronique1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“AMAZING FOOD & SERVICE!!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2011

If you are coming to Montreal, you must try Taza Flores!
By far the best tapas restaurant in Montreal. I am from spanish decent and absolutely loved their dishes. Beef carpacio, tilapia coconut ceviche, trout tartare and bacon dates were so delicious. The grilled octopus was so nicely prepared, by far best octopus i have tasted. Mojitos are great as well!
Vibe and decoration is cozy and innovative! Amazing ambiance!
The service was impeciable, and manager so friendly, he made sure all was running smoothly and were happy through out the night for my birthday celebration.
The taza staff was adorable and the food was amazing!
I look forward to many more nights at this restaurant!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taza Flores also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Taza Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing