We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic! Flawless French food and experience.”
Review of Restaurant Lemeac

Restaurant Lemeac
Ranked #75 of 5,712 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Outremont
Cross street: Durocher
Transit: Park avenue and Laurier Street
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
200 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Flawless French food and experience.”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We had a fantastic meal. Parking required some patience as the restaurant is in a very popular neighborhood. Having said that, the restaurant is a ground level affair with a Parisian layout that capitalizes on the windows and outside space. So, ask to sit where you can see all of the action outside. The food is spectacular. I had the best Fois Grois I've ever had at this place. The service was perfect without ever being in your face. The best dessert I've ever had is this restaurant's version of French Toast. I really can't find the words...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    177
    43
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Outstanding in every way. A wine list that will keep you happy & reading for a while. Every dish that was placed in front of us was beautifully plated and equally delicious. Service was outstanding. A beautiful, unpretentious place that will delight.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank michele s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Night-owl special”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband and I had tried to get a reservation at this very popular restaurant several times, but were never successful. Then we read about their late-night special menu and thought it would be adventurous to have dinner at 10 PM. It really was fun, the food and ambiance were great and the price was a real bargain: appetizer and main course from a varied menu for $27 per person. The waiters were friendly and warm and helpful with the very extensive wine list. Apparently on weekends it can be hectic, but on a Thursday it was busy enough to be lively, but not crowded. Parking can be a challenge in that neighbourhood, but not at that hour. We'd be glad to go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annettewolfsteinjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent & Predictable”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Both brunch and dinner offer very good value for money - it is on the expensive end for Montréal. Discounted late night menu ($22) if you arrive after 22h. Brunch is more affordable.

Tip: Book in advance. Ask for a specific table e.g., they have a (covered) terrace, bar seats.

Menu: Surprisingly diversified, bistro style menu. Well presented. Salmon tartare with truffle oil was one of the best tartare I've had in Montréal. Excellent wine cellar, with many private importations. Ask for pairing with food and if they have any wines that are not listed.

Ambiance: traditional French bistro atmosphere with a modern twist. I sit at the bar with friends and at a table with my girlfriend.

Service: Excellent. Not overwhelming yet helpful.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“DO NOT MISS THIS PLACE”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Best meal of our weekend in Montreal, hands down. In fact, we went 2 times for dinner and brunch - both exquisite. The food is traditional french bistro fare with a modern twist and the atmosphere is absolutely timeless. Highlights include the French Toast Dessert with milk jam ice cream, foie gras, homemade, the salads are phenomenal and frankly, you cannot go wrong. COME HERE and enjoy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Lemeac also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant Lemeac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing