We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar”
Review of Brutopia

Brutopia
Ranked #5 of 216 Nightlife in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Herts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Bar”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great bar,great beer.great food,great atmosphere.Really easy to find. Very central location in a nice area.A must if you are visiting Montreal.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HertsSpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    35
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place to throw a party!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Our group got the lower-level for a party and it was the greatest venue. Good areas for milling around visiting each other. The menu was far superior to bar food. I had the Cuban sandwich and was blown away with the taste. Would have traded that for a few overpriced fancy meals we had later in the week. Great servers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HotModelForTSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great beer, great vibe, initial service not the greatest.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

When we first stopped in here, we looked around for a bit, then left because we were unsure if they served dinner because we saw no menues, no one eating, a pringles vending unit in the front, and no server asked us if we needed any help and we were looking for a dinner spot. We did return later in the night for a couple great pints of local beer. At that point the place was hoping. Great band on stage, and the beer was fantastic. We returned the next night, which was a sunday night, and they were moderately full. It was open mic, and I counted about 20 people in the bar, which is great for a Sunday Night. Everyone was really into the open mic. Never did try the food, which it turns out they did serve.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan1984Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
711 reviews
336 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Sunady dinner”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

First of all let me say there was nothing wrong with the beers. They was nothing great either. The selection was average. In our four days in Montreal, this was the fourth brewpub we went to, and the only one I could recommend for their beer was Le Saint Boc. We really enjoyed the food, though. I feel when I go to a brewpub I look for nice unique beers first, with an adequate food selection.I consider this a restaurant that also brews beer. Also I am reviewing this as a restaurant, not as nightlife.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best ,it became our local!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just spent 10 days in Montreal,visited many good beer bars but this was our favourite.It ended up our local ,spent 4 nights enjoying the excellent beers on offer.Special mention for the Honey Brown and Raspberry Blond which was excellent.The great beer was added to by friendly staff and welcoming locals,if we lived in Montreal this would be our local,many thanks to all that made us welcome .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MattG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brutopia also viewed

 

Been to Brutopia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing