We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atma is my favorite Indien restaurant in Montreal (with Taj)”
Review of Atma

Atma
Order Online
Ranked #38 of 6,714 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $27
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Jewish Quarter
Description: Welcome to Restaurant Atma. Atma is known as a very special and unique Indian restaurant in Montreal. This restaurant is located in the heart of Montreal's trendy Le Plateau district, Atma is a comfortable yet modern, stylish restaurant which makes for a very pleasant space to enjoy delicious Indian cuisine. After dinning at Atma, you'll wonder why you haven't tried this restaurant before. Many guests find the atmosphere and experience so authentic that they feel like they were actually dining in India. The upstairs dining area is a must see and everyone should experience being in a place like this! Atma's menu consists of all your favourite Indian dishes and some must-try, interesting house specialties. You'll find chicken, lamb, shrimp as well as vegetarian dishes and more. Every dish is readily available from mild to extra spicy, prepared without preservatives or saturated fats. See the menus for details. Great dining awaits you at Atma!
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Atma is my favorite Indien restaurant in Montreal (with Taj). The setting is amazing. The food is great. The ambiance impeccable.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Montreal_Canada2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
group8590, Public Relations Manager at Atma, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2019

Wow, we are so happy to hear this!! Thank you so much for sharing your review and your comments - we really appreciate it. We would love to have you back again soon :) Have a great week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 470 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2019

The butter chicken was super creamy and had the subtle taste of tomatoes, it was great. Lamb korma was good too, very well prepared and refined. The Baignan Bharta was out of this world, absolutely insane. Chicken pakora were ok, well prepared, but basically just tasted like fried chicken, not the way I would have expected from an indian restaurant. The Naan and Paratta, were super crunchy. I personally prefer the fluffy version, but it was good quality. My friend craved for the vegetable Byriani.

Overall, it was a great meal, not cheap, but not really expensive too. (about 25$-30$/person I guess). I definitely recommend it. The only thing I regret is not tasting Tandoori stuff, it looked so amazing.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mathlamontagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
group8590, Public Relations Manager at Atma, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2019

Wow, thank you so much for your review! We are so happy to hear that you and your friend both enjoyed your meals and we truly appreciate your honest feedback about all of the dishes you ordered. And thank you for such a raving review of our Baignan Bharta! We hope you'll come back again to try some meals from our Tandoori oven ;) Have a great week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

Loved my overall experience! The guys at the bar were really fun to interact with while I waited on my meal, very entertaining. The food was like others I have had so it didn’t blow me away that way, maybe because I asked it to be spicy and it was tame it soiled the experience.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank PaulM776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
group8590, Public Relations Manager at Atma, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Hi Paul,

Thank you so much for your review and your comments! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We'll definitely pass along your kind message to our bar staff. We appreciate your feedback about your food and we will be using this to improve our services moving forward. We hope you'll give us another try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2019

I absolutely love Atma. When you walk in, you get a nice vibe and it smells great. The staff where extremely kind and friendly. The second they placed the food on the table, my mouth immediately started to water!!! My family and I ordered naan, butter paneer, daal and rice, a samosa and veg briyani. Everything was beautifully presented and had so much flavour. For desert we ordered a mango lassi and gulab jaman. My family and I enjoyed so much and we are super exited to return!!!!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pripri6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
group8590, Public Relations Manager at Atma, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Hi pripri6,

Thank you so much for such positive feedback about our food and your experience! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and we can't wait to see you and your family again soon! Have a great week :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2019

I had an amazing meal at Atma. I actually found out about Atma on Instagram and I cannot explain how much i craved it the next day. I ordered a butter paneer, a vegetable biryani, samosas, and much more.My daughter is very fussy, but she actually had a great meal,leaving her plate almost as clean as it had been once she received it. The restaurant itself has such a lively vibe,but of course Atma wouldn't be Atma without the staff, who are so very welcoming.They make sure that you leave the restaurant with a smile and probably a takeout bag, just for tomorrow.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vanika Kaur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
group8590, Public Relations Manager at Atma, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Hi Vanika,

Wow! Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are so glad that you and your daughter enjoyed your food and experience in our restaurant. We hope to you both back again soon! Have a wonderful week :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atma also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Atma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing