We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicken was okay but everything else was great”
Review of coco rico

coco rico
Ranked #333 of 5,723 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Chicken was okay but everything else was great”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I believe this place is known for its Portuguese chicken but I actually found this to be their weakest link. I ordered an entire chicken and found it dry. Perhaps it would have been better to have a quarter chicken of dark meat. But the ribs were phenomenal, as were the roast potatoes and egg tarts. Our family had also ordered the macaroni salad and cole slaw but the order seemed to have been forgotten, which was fine as we ended up with more than enough food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank the_lowdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    34
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Roast chicken”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Very good chicken good price , delicious corn bread, the potatoes wont find it anywhere have bin going there may years.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janinahub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
102 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Mouth watering roast chicken, cheap as well”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

One of the best roast chicken you have ever had, believe me, and a very reasonnable place! Dont miss our on it, you won't regret eating their delicious food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Meat, meat and more meat,with a few potatoes”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The most sublime barbecue chicken, pork and ribs I have ever had, anywhere. Spicy potatoes added to breakup the eat sweats a little, but this is simply top carnivore food....

If they say 'meat is murder', then it is a very tasty, tasty murder indeed.

We absolutely loved this simple cafe style place for the simplicity and beauty of its food..

Ideal for lunch, possibly a bit underwhelming for an evening meal...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Must try sandwiches”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Have been going for at least 25 years and still enjoy it. Try the pork or chicken sandwiches and spicy potatoes are great too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed coco rico also viewed

 

Been to coco rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing