We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best tour”

Spade & Palacio Non-Touristy Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Spade & Palacio is a collaboration of two born and raised, young Montrealers who are passionate about our city and love to show it. We originally met during our guiding classes and bonded over a shared interest and intention of having our visitors walk away with a day in the life of a local experience. Three years later we decided to take matters into our own hands and the company was born. It’s simple; we take our guests away from the mains, our tours are non-touristy. We want to showcase unknown parts while promoting local, young and women entrepreneurs on our walking food tours and your local guide’s favorite parts of town on our bike tours. Unlike other companies, we guarantee intimate groups of 10 or less. We hire only local and licensed fun guides. You aren’t sheep we herd around town, you’re our guests and we keep it human scale, authentic and real.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Reviewed July 13, 2017

Anne-Marie is my favorite thus far. She's very knowledgeable and passionate about what she does. Montreal could not have been better without her. Size of our group was perfect. Food selections were excellent. Length of tour was sweet. Overall, A+!! Make sure you show up hungry!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank fanafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyMTL, Owner at Spade & Palacio Non-Touristy Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2017

Hi!

Anne-Marie is my favourite too. We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience with others. Thanks for the A+, didn't get a lot of those in school ;)

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"anne marie"
in 45 reviews
"market tour"
in 38 reviews
"jean talon market"
in 36 reviews
"food tour"
in 37 reviews
"pupusas"
in 16 reviews
"charcuterie"
in 18 reviews
"market food"
in 13 reviews
"great tour"
in 25 reviews
"mural tour"
in 7 reviews
"sorbet"
in 7 reviews
"bike lanes"
in 12 reviews
"street art"
in 11 reviews
"cold brew coffee"
in 5 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 13 reviews
"salvadoran food"
in 4 reviews
"cheat sheet"
in 4 reviews
"hush puppies"
in 3 reviews
Filter

180 - 184 of 364 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2017

We took the Beyond the Basilica tour with Elyse and had a wonderful time! The group was small and Elyse created a friendly atmosphere. This tour starts in Vielle Ville with the Basilica and ends just past the Festival neighborhood (where Jazz Festival happened to be when we toured). So it was a nice way to learn about how Montreal came to be founded, all the people who've inhabited this area and how Montreal came to be such an international, scholarly city. We enjoyed the snack in China Town and iced coffee farther uptown at the end. We used the guide to recommended restaurants, shopping, etc. to find a great place for dinner that same night. It was a wonderful way to start our visit to Montreal. Merci Spade & Palacio!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyMTL, Owner at Spade & Palacio Non-Touristy Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2017

Hey there!

Thanks for joining us and sharing your feedback Élyse just joined us this summer and reading this makes me extra happy she did. Glad our list of recommendations scored you a solid dinner. Come back join us for a bike or food tour!

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017

Danny was a great tour guide. We learned so much about Montreal. The small group size was really nice and we got to see so many neighborhoods. Wear comfortable shoes, it's a bit of walking, but not too strenuous.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank danielleandj0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyMTL, Owner at Spade & Palacio Non-Touristy Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2017

Heya!

Happy you two enjoyed your time out with us. Thanks for joining and sharing your experience. See you next time for a bike tour :)

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017

We had an absolutely fantastic experience on the Spade & Palacio bike tour in Montreal. Our tour guide was great - a lovely guy, knowledgeable, approachable and passionate about his city and cycling. We were taken through the neighbourhoods stopping at street art locations, places with interesting stories and down in the main city before meandering back to base camp. A delightful lunch was served in the park where we enjoyed a local beer before continuing the adventure.
I think its important to stress how good the bikes were. Having seen a few other bike tours and being keen cyclists back in England I was concerned I would end up with a small two wheeled tank. But no, the Spade & Palacio bikes were light, easy to control, very well maintained and lovingly finished in electric pink. Other tour companies should take note of how good these bikes are, they're recycled as well! We would definitely do it again if we are back in Montreal. The city never felt busy so it was perfectly safe and I would recommend it for family groups who wanted a great tour as well as anyone visiting the area.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyMTL, Owner at Spade & Palacio Non-Touristy Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Hi!

We decided if we were going to launch bike tours we'd do it in style. It was important to us to work with a social enterprise like Rebicycle and have our recycled frames built right here in the Mile End! They are hands down the most beautiful pink rides in Montreal and make showcasing our city a breeze. See you in London in September for a beer!

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2017 via mobile

This was one of the best tours I've been on. The group size was small and we got to experience the local food scene in and around the market. It was clear that Danny and his partner have forged strong relationships with the vendors we visited, and I liked that most of them were owned by women. I will book the other tours offered by S&P on my return, as these guys provided a true local experience and it was a pleasure hanging out with Danny.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Charlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyMTL, Owner at Spade & Palacio Non-Touristy Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Heya!

Thanks for joining us. Always nice to meet other open minded explorers. Hope the restaurant recommendation lived up to the hype;) See you on your next trip to Montreal for a bike tour.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spade & Palacio Non-Touristy Tours also viewed

 

Been to Spade & Palacio Non-Touristy Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing