We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brunch before hockey”

Ye Olde Orchard Pub & Grill
Ranked #1,341 of 5,711 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, Indian, Brew Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Quispamsis, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brunch before hockey”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was our second Super Bowl weekend spent in Montreal for Habs hockey. And, our return visit to the Ye Olde Orchard Pub & Grill. The breakfasts we had were great value for the price. On our Sunday stop, I tried the "Irish Toast" - it's like French toast but made with Baileys Irish Cream - it was very good. Service was good and we'll definitely be back!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marla-Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    35
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly service, nice atmosthere, good food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The food at this pub varies in quality but in general, the fish&chips and the daily specials are very good. Some of the meat dishes are sometimes not the best but are still tasty. I believe they also serve breakfast, at least on week-ends like a brunch but I have not been there for breakfast yet.

There is a good choice of beers from Scotch to English, as well as other European beers and they also have some good North American beers.

My only bone to pick is that, in today's world of inexpensive and high quality flat-screen TVs, the TVs at this place are old and small. They need to be replaced with larger models because many of the customer who come here DO watch sports like Soccer or Hockey. With the large amount of customers they get, they should be making enough money to be able to afford new and larger TVs surely!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Can A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natdev84, Front Office Manager at Ye Olde Orchard Pub & Grill, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We have looked into enlarging our flat screens, however, we don't want them to take away from the authentic pub atmosphere. That being said, we will definitely take your opinion into consideration and try and find a good compromise for all patrons!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Over the years, we have been to this pub many times because of the casual atmosphere, decent food and good value.
Hamburger are great, and the curry are excellent. Great choice of beers on tap.
At our last visit, the service was excellent, it was not always the case but this time, yes.
Excellent choice if you are looking for a pub.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaetane_Jean-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent food, nice casual atmosphere, great service - good pub”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went to Ye Olde Orchard on Delamontagne street the first night of our stay because it was close to our hotel and still serving food at 10:30pm. We returned a few days later on New Years Eve because we enjoyed it, and it was open until 3am, while most other places closed at 1am. The food was decent; we tried the BLT and the Irish stew and both were good but nothing special. The beer menu was average, about 10 on tap of which half were local brews. The atmosphere was relaxed and comfortable, and the servers were friendly and prompt. There's a nice seating area near the door which stays away from the crowded bar and stage area (there was live music the first night we went). When we returned on NYE around 1am, we were able to grab a small table there and enjoy our beers while laughing at all the 20-somethings who were nearly too drunk to stand. Great place to go if you're looking for a pub where you can relax and enjoy a beer and maybe some food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mukaikubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gta
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food, relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have been to Ye Olde Orchard Pub on Prince Arthur a few times now. The food is always dependable, service is friendly. Decent menu and good value.
We were there again on Fri night for dinner, having just arrived in Montreal for the weekend. Happy hour specials on local beer from 4 - 7pm, were a nice surprise.
I had the Pub spuds - not your traditional potato skins, more of a baked potato with cheese and bacon. The side salad was very good, mixed greens, tomato and the pub dressing was delicious. Was just right for a light meal, and at $7.99 you can't beat the price.
My friends had the Irish stew and Cajun Chicken Caesar salad. Lots of chicken in the salad.
Only down side to our visit was we sat by the front window and it was very cold in Montreal on the weekend, so there was a bit of a draft. Should have gone to the back of the pub.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gta-hockey-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Orchard Pub & Grill also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Ye Olde Orchard Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing