We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Les Cons Servent

Les Cons Servent
Ranked #1,661 of 5,682 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $22 - $32
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Montreal
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Went on a friday night, had the special - fish & chips. Fries were bland, fish was OK but batter was not at all crispy. Started with the venison tartar, which was also very middle of the road.

Menu needs more originality and quality. Service was good but not outstanding.

In short, very average.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oogli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    30
    18
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Over our stay in Montreal from Nov 2009 until autumn 2010 we went to Les Cons Servent once a month.
Service was very friendly. The time between courses was perfect if you want to spend a relaxed evening and don't go to a restaurant just to get the calories in.
The menu changed depending on the season. Every single time we went, the food was delicious, with surprising elements (without being disturbingly extravagant), subtle combinations of different tastes, always high quality fresh ingredients, very nice wine.
Tip: instead of booking a table, sit at the bar, have a chat with the Cons...
Not "cheap" but excellent value for money.

  • Visited August 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fsbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great wine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

We made reservation to that nice restaurant. The inside was clean and organized. The servers were very nice. I did notice that they were only 2 and when the restaurant got full we could feel that they were under-pressure. They did a good job but a extra pair of hands would help. Their selection of wines is very impressive and they are all 'bio', so that bring to taste something different. My starter was good: a pork rillete(pate) was nicely seasone and nicely presented. My main course was a skirt steak(bavette) served with fries. Unfortunattely, my bavette steak was too cook. I send it back. To then get the 'Guidille', half lobster perfectely poach mixed with a lit mayo, served in a grill hot-dog bun with fries. Nicely done.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GinLemonade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden gem inside the Plateau Eastside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

Very good contemporary French and local food. Excellent and extremely friendly and helpful service. Interesting atmosphere. This is a great place to enjoy a nice meal with friends or your significant other.

Unfortunately, the restaurant is located on trashy and busy (in a bad way) Papineau Street (but this shouldn't stop you !)

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PlateauEastsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great little Plateau restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

We went the six of us foe a birthday dinner at the second seating in the evening. The place has a neat look and the service was friendly. The food was very good (although those who got fries though they tasted like frozen...): the gnocchi appetizer and the tartare were very good. We did wait quite a lot to get our food but we will forgive them as the place was packed (and contrary to what we expected, we could still hear each other speak).

All said, I would go back. I would recommend this place more for groups rather than couples.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jssurleplateau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Cons Servent also viewed

 

Been to Les Cons Servent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing