We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Cantonese Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mon Shing

Mon Shing
Ranked #1,431 of 5,656 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Cantonese Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

the food here is by far some of the best chinese food ive eaten this side in canada. The chow mein, duck , chicken, hot and sour soup, fried rice, sweet and sour pork are exquisite. Great authentic food

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anonsrt8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    30
    13
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
228 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Was beyond my expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Some of the best authentic Chinese food I have even eaten (highly recommend the fried squid. It was the best i have ever had). Service was fast and friendly. Only negative was the noise level. Would highly recommend eating here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rands23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We wandered up and down Chinatown in Montreal, before choosing this restaurant, and chose it because several Chinese people were eating there.
BIG MISTAKE!
We were seated in the centre of the restaurant, as was another non-Chinese couple. My husband's 'chicken' meal was all skin, although my prawns were prawns, but in a peculiar jelly and obviously reheated - just. We paid and were berated with "No tip??" I retorted that we only gave tips for good food and service and food, and we stalked out!
I feel ashamed that we did not send the food back, but we were tired, hungry, etc etc.
Just be warned!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieBWatfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Affordable, fresh food and accessible location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The restaurant is not some larger Chinese food franchise and doesn't assume to be that. The place was busy around 7pm and we enjoyed our stay there, amidst locals (Francophone and Chinese-Canadian). There were a variety of foods being served that were hot and being devoured by their guests, including ourselves.The food we ordered (Shanghai noodles and Lemon chicken) were fresh and delicious.

Avoid tables where the AC blasts out over/onto you. The place was maintained but a little tired-looking. There was some construction being done in the area in front of the restaurant and the window was cracked and taped up. It's clear they're working on maintenance but that food and whatnot is their priority. Given the reputation from some friends who live there and suggested this place, it wasn't a surprise to us. In Toronto, we have similar restaurants and the food is priority (decorum is maintained to a degree and just above health requirements).

If you're expecting five-star dining and a luxurious location to eat it in, then don't go here. If you want cheap, delicious and comfortable looking food, then this is a great spot to eat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Toronto84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worst Chinese meal ever.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Awful, awful, awful. Restaurant was smelly, carpets sticky and the food was bad. General Tao was obviously reheated and had the consistency of toffee; the prawn dish was tasteless, and the service was offhand. Price was OK if you actually eat anything. Never again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank opheliabuttocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mon Shing also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Mon Shing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing