We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best sopa de mondongo and pupusas”
Review of La Carreta

La Carreta
Ranked #1,204 of 5,712 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, South American, Central American, Salvadoran
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best sopa de mondongo and pupusas”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

i was there january 17 2012 the served was amazyng ,i haven`t been there since 2005 but the food still the same as good like always the yuca frita was so tasty and yummy i lve in Toronto salvadorean food here suck they are zing of taste for me la carreta never change good food and the pupusas wow the best ,the sopa the mondongo excelente my best friend from argentina was impress the taste of the food was amaziyng he say when i go back to Montreal for sure i will be back

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank balmo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best pupusa in town at the cheapest price”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

This is my favorite spot for a cheap eat. The pupusas are 2.50$ each and you only 2 or 3 to have a full meal. The owner will want you to buy other things but the other waitresses are fine as long as you tip them well.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louis-Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
250 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Awesome Pupusas!”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Tasty and at reasonable price! Their salad and tomato sauce were excellent. We also ordered a drink: horchata - it was delicious (full of spice and tasted like almond milk, a bit). Definitely a place I'd go back for lunch!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“pupusas delight”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

The best pupusas in Montreal! Salvadorian and latin food including fajitas, tacos, tamalitos and of Corse their delicious pupusas. La carreta is a relaxed place with authentic Latin cuisine and ambiance (staff, music decor). We have not explored their full menu, although everything looks and smells great. We are big fans of their cheese pupusas always made fresh on the spot and their yucca frita. If you are into exploring different flavours this is definitely a place to visit.

  • Visited July 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious!!!!!!”
Reviewed April 22, 2011

This latin restaurant located in little italy is a gem. The food is fresh, delicious, and authentic. La carreta has been around for 20 years. Need i say more!!!! Try the pupusas, tamales, the burros, pollo a la plancha, and much more! We reserved for a party and had great time. So just sit back end enjoy the food. We are going back for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Horchada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carreta also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to La Carreta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing