We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend brunch”
Review of Le Cartet

Le Cartet
Ranked #50 of 5,710 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Canada
Level Contributor
326 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“weekend brunch”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

not your typical brunch,but you can order some very creative items off the menu.there is a fine selection of grocery type items to take with you after.service is prompt despite the place being packed.servers and kitchen staff all keep their cool.this place has been running for years and shows no signs of slowing down

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 57chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    153
    40
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Love the food and the ambiance. It's very Anglo Montreal. Service ok, food is great and the beat is very trendy.

The line ups can be long, so be prepared.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_vita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“My kind of place...”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Trendy breakfast in Montreal. Good choice of food from sweet to savory, for the bon viveur & for the health nut! Or for people like me who are a mixture of both. Good coffee, I mean that...I am not a fan of having a mug of coffee in hand half of the day. Like everything else I want it if it's worth having! This is my kind of place to start the day as a tourist;) You can also shop for a couple of treats on the way out!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gigienvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent little breakfast bistro”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

All I can say is wow. The absolute perfect bistro for breakfast in Montreal. We showed up at 9am on Sunday and were seated immediately at a table for 2. You can also sit at communal tables with other people which I think is great except we were slightly hungover that early in the morning to be communicating with others. The service was the best and our waiter could not have been nicer or more attentive than he was. The food was excellent as was the ambience. A nice bonus to the experience is that they have a wonderful market in the restaurant that you can pick up French mustard or wonderful chocolates, pastas or beautiful olive oils.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katrina-P40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
146 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved the brunch”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Thanks, Trip Advisor! I was very happy we found this place. We visited Le Cartet on a Sunday morning around 9:30 AM. There was just a short line at this hour and we waited about 10 minutes. I had the Brunch Sante and my fiance had the Brunch Toscan. We also ordered cafe au lait (the bowl size, of course), mimosas, and an almond croissant. The croissant was to die for, warm and full of almond paste. My brunch was amazing. I loved every bit (I would say my favorite was the goat cheese pesto) and was sad when I was too full to finish. My fiance was not as amazed with his; he liked it but said the sauce on the eggs was a little too thick and bland.

Service was friendly but harried as the place was full. But we didn't feel that we were kept waiting at all; everything arrived in a reasonable amount of time.

When we left, the line was out the door and down the stairs, so definitely go early!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank majesty318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cartet also viewed

 

Been to Le Cartet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing