We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal and price”
Review of Bombay Mahal

Bombay Mahal
Ranked #429 of 5,723 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great meal and price”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We had the lamb jalfraiz, bhindi masala, baingan bharta, chicken saag, daal makini, chili shrimp, naan and rice. All yummy! Friendly and funny waiters. Dinner for five with tax and tip $110!

Can't beat it. Sit in the front section if it's crowded as the acoustics in the big room in the back make it every noisy when it's full.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hungryman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    39
    11
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall with great food!”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I was a little worried by some of the review that this place was past it's prime and so were my colleagues until we sat down to eat. The food was wonderful (and one of my colleagues is indian).

What you need to know - The area is probably going to look a little sketchy to some, but it didn't seem unsafe. Decor is typical of hole in the wall places (ugly) - as was the service (brusque). They do not wait on you hand and foot there, they have a line of people waiting for your table. They weren't mean, just rushed. We had to ask for menus, since apparently many people know what they want there. THEY DONT ACCEPT CREDIT CARDS - only cash and canadian debit cards which are not the same as USA. We were staying at the omni west and it was a $20 cab ride and about 15-20 minutes with traffic. THEY DONT ACCEPT RESERVATIONS ON WEEKENDS. We went during peak dinner time around 7 and probably waited about 30 minutes. You stand in line, sometimes outside and once you get in you are really packed in there. There are also tables in the waiting area which would bother some people to eat at - if thats you, just wait a little longer for a table in the back. BRING YOUR OWN WINE, no uncorking fee, we saw a lot of people drinking straight from the bottle, which was interesting :) The bottle shop in montreal (all of them) is called SAQ. (The restaurant does have corkscrews). Food is served on steel plates, and the water in steel cups with no ice. soda is in the can. Again this all very typical from what I've seen of hole in the wall places - this is not a quiet elegant place with great service - it's a noisy bustling place with great food.

The food came pretty quick. The appetizers and food came pretty close together. The garlic naan was hot, fresh, soft and wondeful. the samosa was delish as was everything we ordered - which was A LOT. Prices were great. Curries and most mains were in the range of 7.99-10.99. The tandoori chicken leg was just 2.99, naan was 1.99 and up, rice is ordered separate and was from 2.99 up.

We had a great time, a unique experience and my co-workers raved right along with me about the food. If you like hole in the walls and indian food - this is THE place!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank angelc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We keep going back...”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Decor is so-so but the tandoori, naan & thalis can't be beat.
We have found none better in Montreal at any price.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KQC_Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Simple surroundings and delicious food”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We went at lunch-time, having been recommended to go by a local. The service was welcoming, understated and attentive. The food was delicious. There is an extensive menu, with lunch-time specials and reasonable prices. There is a 'Bring your own wine policy'. Everything we ate was homemade, with fresh ingredients. The atmosphere was positive and quiet; customers oozed contentment as they concentrated on their food.
We enjoyed all the most important things - food, service and ambience. Perhaps the decor and customer toilet could do with being freshened up. On the other hand, perhaps the slightly worn furnishings and fittings add to the relaxed ambience.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jockswithoutkilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“a great family owned indian restaurant”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We love that place... this is not the typical indian restaurant where food tastes good for 5 minutes and you fell heavy for 3 hours... Everything there is very homy style... I have tated a better butter chicken yet... they also ofer original meals like the dosaswhich are kind of giant crepes....
I have been there many times with indians friends who told me it's one of the few in town they really consider indian....
It's also BYOW so the prices are very reasonable

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueTrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Mahal also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Bombay Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing