We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth visiting....”

Les Deux Singes de Montarvie
Reserve with OpenTable
Les Deux Singes de Montarvie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 5,719 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Cross street: De l'Esplanade & Waverly
Transit: Metro Rosemont. Bus 55 St-Laurent, stop at St-Viateur Street.
Toronto
Level Contributor
289 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Worth visiting....”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I've been dying to get to this restaurant for years. I finally managed to get a reservation on the snowstorm of year, and despite being two hours late (which the restaurant was good about), had a great meal.

The duck ravioli was fabulous. Awesome. Fabulous. Risotto - the same. Service was excellent, convivial, attentive, friendly -- great.

A few of us made the mistake of ordering the beef -- great flavours, but a bit overcooked for my taste. Everything else was amazingly good.

A great night - just a little off due to a bit of beef just a bit long in the pan.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephenM465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    91
    19
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The highlight of our trip!!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Nestled in a vibrant, hip neighborhood, this really is a gem of a restaurant, with bags of style. The decor is warm and inviting with fab original artwork, the ambiance relaxed and very friendly, the food exquisite. We way preferred it to the so-called 'best restaurants' in the old town. Great neighborhood to walk around before or after dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SasaB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not to Be Missed Neighborhood Gem”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We can't say enough about this whole experience....we like to sit at the bar and watch the chef's performance which, in this case, was so smoothly orchestrated and artistic that you could make it your whole evening's entertainment. I had the special appetizer: Salmon Tartare, and my husband had the Wild Mushroom Risotto to start. Both were not only works of art, but supremely tasty! For a main course, we had the Homemade Lobster Sausage - a long-standing staple of the restaurant (there's good reason they keep it going) - and the Fish of the Day, which in this case was a Halibut....both were delicious! Watching the owner - Nada - and the chef (who took over only within the last three months) work together was fascinating....their attention to detail was admirable, and their coordination made the service impeccable. A real neighborhood gem! Atmosphere is a little funky, but nice and quiet...you can actually hear the others in your party talk!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frankandellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“You will Never be disappointed with the food!!!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was the second time we went to Deux Singes, and the food I think was even better than the first time, and the first time was excellent! What a great place! We had a bottle of Renaud white wine ($49) with our meal, and ordered the grilled squid, which is amazing, and tried the starter wild mushroom risotto, which was yummy on the palate, but a bit liquid on the bottom, yet cooked to perfection. Then we ordered the filet mignon which was cooked as we like it, and of the highest quality melt in your mouth meat, and the fish of the day, a Salmondine on a quinoa base with a bacon/pecan sauce-TO DIE FOR! LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS PLACE! Also, the Lobster Sausage that someone ordered at another table looked amazing, so I will try it next time. For dessert, last time I was there, we ordered an ile flotante, that came as a single portion with chopped walnut, blueberry, raspberry creme anglaise type base...and it was very, very good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank montrealguy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Easily the best restaurant in town!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Les Deux Singes is easily the best restaurant in town.
From the lamps made out of recycled kitchenware to the extremely friendly owner and lovely staff, it is more than easy to feel at home.
Note that I come to this place very often. Having said that, and having tried every dish on the menu, from the very tender beef bavette to the very intriguing marinated squids, I can freely say that the price is worth paying just to stare at the exquisite masterpieces that show up in front of you. And the taste... it just leaves me wanting more.
PS: the monkey X-rays on the walls are extremely cool to stare at.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThatThirteenthGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Deux Singes de Montarvie also viewed

 

Been to Les Deux Singes de Montarvie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing