We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VIETNAM PLUS MONTREAL = SUPERB”
Review of Pho Tay Ho

Pho Tay Ho
Ranked #407 of 5,816 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“VIETNAM PLUS MONTREAL = SUPERB”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

fancy, no!; expensive, no!; friendly yes!; just wonderful food served with no pretence just hot, fast and delicious in a very "warm" atmosphere. It's location on Saint-Denis in the plateau is quite off the beaten track, so for them to survive, you know they are popular and for very good reason. I can't wait to return and have something different.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arnaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    38
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Overrated, greasy”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I went to that restaurant because of its rave reviews and was highly disappointed. We had to wait outside at -15 C for quite a while and then inside where we could see into the kitchen. Their methods of cleaning ustensil is utterly disgusting (no detergent, just hot water and air-dried). I made a mental note to clean mine before eating. When we finally got a table, the ustensils were filthy. I ordered a chicken pho and a mango bubble tea. The bubble tea was ok and the tea was good, but the pho smelled like wet dog and I had more fat than chicken. It was also terribly noisy. There were very few veggies in it and it tasted like salt. I know better restaurants in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rude and money-grubbing”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The food might be good at Pho Tay Ho, but the service is so very rude. I have rarely felt so disrespected at a restaurant. They just want your money and for you to get out of there asap so they can have more customers. Go to Y Lan across the street instead, at least you'll be giving your money to good people.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poivreetsel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pho tay Whoa!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Love this place. I definitely treck outta my plateau neighborhood for their brothy delights. Im alot closer to china town but china town pho is just not the same. This place has saved me from the most treacherous of hang overs. Magic pho. So damn good!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Pho”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Is there any better remedy to your hangover than Pho Thay Ho ?
I don't think so

Everyone who is a food lover and a party animal would agree with me.

They have the best Broth in town. The magic potion that will treat your hangover like a champ and put you back on your feet.

I always get #12
I need my pho fix at least once a week or i feel like something in my life is missing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Tay Ho also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Pho Tay Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing