We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd Best Sushi I've Had to Date” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tri Express

Tri Express
Ranked #488 of 5,656 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
401 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“2nd Best Sushi I've Had to Date”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Besides a hole in the wall sushi joint I visited in NYC when I was younger, this is by far the best sushi I've had in a long time. It's a small place, reservations are hard to get, and it's cramped, but it is worth the wait. The staff is friendly, though a bit quiet. We weren't sure what to order (all items were in japanese and french) so we looked at what other people were eating and just picked some items at random. All of it was to die for. The fish was so fresh, the rolls were a perfect size, the appetizers were inspired. I can't even describe how perfect each bite was. You just have to go. Oh! Cash only - I had to borrow some from a friend - good thing to know.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank parker617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    32
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“I just love this restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

When Sushi Volant – on Rachel – was sold several years ago, I was really sad because it was in my opinion the best sushi place in Montreal. That was until I discovered Tri Express 2 years ago. I have been to the restaurant several times, and ordered for take-out as well. Quality and freshness have always been there, and they’re rolls are so original and tasty! One must try the “Divin”, a lobster mixture mounded up in a pyramid shape on a rice cracker. The sushi and sashimi are absolutely fresh, the fish is always well cut. Not on the menu are the $20 and $25 per person tasting menus. I personally think the $25 menu is way too much food, but everything is so good that you can’t help but finish the plates. If you’re a sushi lover, you must try this restaurant! Oh, and the eclectic décor is super nice. Note that no alcohol is served, and only cash is accepted. You absolutely need to reserve on weekends, and even on weekdays, the restaurant is full. Services are at fixed hours; if you go at 6pm, you’re clearly told you’ll have to be out by 7:30pm… Those are the only downsides of this otherwise perfect restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IsaPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best sushi pizza EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a tiny restaurant -new york style. you might be seated next to someone else. Their sushi style is amazing specially their sushi pizza.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mariaa1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and yummy sushi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Love love love this place! I dined there a year ago and went back last month. It has a great charm, the waiters are polite and quick and I just adore the decor.

The sushi is fantastic and so is their salad.

I highly recommend this restaurent :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane155033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Montreal!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Tri Express is a hidden gem of a restaurant. By far..Montreal's best Sushi. Tri, is the master of Sushi in Montreal. The freshest tasting fish along with the most beautiful presentation all served to you in an small quirky locale hidden away on Laurier East, near Papineau.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank atmirage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tri Express also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Tri Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing